Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Nestle Butterscotch Chips Got Me
0

21 posts in this topic

I dont know why I thought they were gluten free, but just wanted to post that they aren't, in case someone else should need the info. I went and got some Hershey's butterscotch chips today, which ARE safe. But I had already made some peanut butter cookies with the Nestle brand and ate some. At least I figured it out before I ate the whole bag :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Nestle will clearly label in the ingredient list any source of gluten. What gluten ingredient was in the butterscotch chips that we should watch for?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They contain barley.

Here's the ingredients:

INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL, COCONUT OIL, LACTOSE, WHEY, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS (INCLUDING BARLEY PROTEIN), NON-FAT MILK, BUTTERMILK SOLIDS, SODIUM CASEINATE, SOY LECITHIN-AN EMULSIFIER, SALT, ARTIFICIAL COLORS (YELLOW 5 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, BLUE 2 LAKE)

and yes I know they clearly label, it was my own mistake, and I never blamed Nestle. I'm just posting this in case someone else should fail to look since most baking chips are gluten-free. These are NOT.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oops good thing I aint used my butterscotch chips! I swear I looked it up and it said they were safe on a list of Nestle products... but maybe I misread... Well time to toss those out.... Thanks for the heads up!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hershey's butterscotch chips are gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Nestle will clearly label in the ingredient list any source of gluten. What gluten ingredient was in the butterscotch chips that we should watch for?

This is not true. I just checked Nestle online (Lean Cuisine). There are two dinners that don't have "wheat" on the list of included allergens (e.g. "Contains: Wheat, Dairy"). So I was going to buy them (Chicken with almonds and a glazed chicken).

But the FAQ page says: "Q. Looking for LEAN CUISINE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are two things that are relevant here.

When there is a difference between the label on the product you have in your hand and any other source, believe the label on the package you have.

Most manufacturers will not claim "gluten-free" since they do not test. They use practices to clean and take precautions but since they don't test they don't guarantee gluten-free.

"Not gluten free" IS NOT THE SAME AS "contains gluten."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are two things that are relevant here.

When there is a difference between the label on the product you have in your hand and any other source, believe the label on the package you have.

Most manufacturers will not claim "gluten-free" since they do not test. They use practices to clean and take precautions but since they don't test they don't guarantee gluten-free.

"Not gluten free" IS NOT THE SAME AS "contains gluten."

Peter, you have good points. My points are: 1) Nestle has the ability to certify gluten-free if it wanted to; 2) I know it MAY be gluten-free or is LIKELY to be gluten-free but that is not something that I care to risk, as being ill causes all sorts of problems (missed work, missed family events not to mention internal damage); 3) I choose to support products that can confirm that they are gluten-free - the CYA statements are disingenuous and unhelpful; 4) random CC and small amounts of gluten add up.

In the case of Lean Cuisine, I would like to have a quick, healthful lunch to keep on hand. The two chicken meals that I could identify have no bread, tortillas, noodles, gravy etc. How hard would it be to make sure that the machinery was clean and the spices not CC'd and put a gluten-free label on two out of 15-20 varieties?

And taken to extreme, all companies could put CYA statements out there (chapstick is another one) and feel like they are being helpful but making life unnecessarily difficult for us.

I appreciate your input and do not want to quarrel with you but I am firm in my opinions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the case of Lean Cuisine, I would like to have a quick, healthful lunch to keep on hand. The two chicken meals that I could identify have no bread, tortillas, noodles, gravy etc. How hard would it be to make sure that the machinery was clean and the spices not CC'd and put a gluten-free label on two out of 15-20 varieties?

I have the iPad app "Is that gluten-free?" it lists Smart Ones frozen meals as having a gluten-free list. It is a Heinz product. Also, Thai Kitchen has some add water and you get noodles. These are usually in the rice section at the grocery and would keep well in your car, pantry or desk at work.

There are some specialty frozen gluten-free meals but they can be $5. I have seen these Smart Ones for 4 for $5 on sale.

http://www.heinz.com/glutenfree/products.html This is a nice list of alot of products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i ALWAYS mess up the thai kitchen noodle things by putting too much water. I must be thai food challenged. :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i ALWAYS mess up the thai kitchen noodle things by putting too much water. I must be thai food challenged. :P

We need to work together . . . I never add enough water and end up with a gloppy mess. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is not true. I just checked Nestle online (Lean Cuisine). There are two dinners that don't have "wheat" on the list of included allergens (e.g. "Contains: Wheat, Dairy"). So I was going to buy them (Chicken with almonds and a glazed chicken).

But the FAQ page says: "Q. Looking for LEAN CUISINE® products which might be Gluten free. Is there a list of NESTLE® products which are Gluten free? A.Unfortunately, we cannot provide a list of NESTLE® products that are gluten free. Most of our products contain gluten or a derivative of gluten." This was retreived from the website today. Note that it doesn't refer just to Lean Cuisine but to all Nestle products.

So why would they go through the trouble of having an allergen list on the box but then CYA statement on the website? It just annoys the heck out of me.

Down with Nestle.

There are only 2 Lean Cuisine that I found that don't contain something with gluten. Though the Wheat may be distinctly labled, they are not required to distinctly lable barley or rye. I'm not sure I understand your objection. I appreciate companies that list gluten containing ingrediants, even if that means I have to read the list of ingrediants instead of just their "CONTAINS:" statement. Egads...we have some responsibility. :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the case of Lean Cuisine, I would like to have a quick, healthful lunch to keep on hand.

I randomly pulled the ingredient list of a lean Cuisine meal. I've highlighted the things in it that make me question your "healthful" definition.

Ingredients:

COOKED CHICKEN TENDERLOINS (CHICKEN TENDERLOINS, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, WATER, CORN OIL, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATES, SALT, CARAMEL COLOR, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, GARLIC, ONION, PAPRIKA, SPICE), WATER, BLANCHED ENRICHED LONG GRAIN PARBOILED RICE (WATER, RICE, IRON, NIACIN, THIAMIN MONONITRATE, FOLIC ACID), GREEN BEANS, MUSHROOMS, ONIONS, 2% OR LESS OF BLANCHED WILD RICE, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, SUGAR, SALT, CULTURED WHEY, CHICKEN FAT, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE, CARAMEL COLOR, DEHYDRATED ONIONS, SPICES, DEHYDRATED GARLIC, PAPRIKA.

Contains: MILK INGREDIENTS

Why not make your own and freeze it? You can leave out the extra fat, salt, and chemicals.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have the iPad app "Is that gluten-free?" it lists Smart Ones frozen meals as having a gluten-free list. It is a Heinz product. Also, Thai Kitchen has some add water and you get noodles. These are usually in the rice section at the grocery and would keep well in your car, pantry or desk at work.

There are some specialty frozen gluten-free meals but they can be $5. I have seen these Smart Ones for 4 for $5 on sale.

http://www.heinz.com/glutenfree/products.html This is a nice list of alot of products.

Yes, I keep the Thai Kitchen noodles on hand for emergencies. But I have an executive level job and we often order in at short notice. Thai Kitchen noodles are too hard to cook fast and really - without adding shrimp or chicken, veggies and such - aren't a full meal.

But thanks for the Smart Ones list. I'll check it out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are only 2 Lean Cuisine that I found that don't contain something with gluten. Though the Wheat may be distinctly labled, they are not required to distinctly lable barley or rye. I'm not sure I understand your objection. I appreciate companies that list gluten containing ingrediants, even if that means I have to read the list of ingrediants instead of just their "CONTAINS:" statement. Egads...we have some responsibility. :blink:

That is EXACTLY my objection...they are not required to lable barley or rye. Both of those can be hidden easily in spices.

I don't want to argue but you're making it sound like I'm incorrect, and I'm not. It "may" be gluten-free but not guaranteed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I randomly pulled the ingredient list of a lean Cuisine meal. I've highlighted the things in it that make me question your "healthful" definition.

Why not make your own and freeze it? You can leave out the extra fat, salt, and chemicals.

With all due respect, Jestgar (you usually have a lot of good ideas) I didn't ask for a critique of my choices.

I cook 90% of my food from scratch. This is for an emergency and/or quick when I don't have time or I'm not in my office (traveling) or it's short notice. I'm an executive, I have a family, plus I teach part-time at the university level so sometimes I don't have time to cook or bring my own.

OK, I think I'm done with this thread. I'm not annoyed with this community, only with Nestle.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is EXACTLY my objection...they are not required to lable barley or rye. Both of those can be hidden easily in spices.

No, they can't. Both barley and rye are grains, not spices. They can not be hidden there. Seasonings, yes, but not "spices." No grain can be labeled as a spice.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With all due respect, Jestgar (you usually have a lot of good ideas) I didn't ask for a critique of my choices.

Sorry. I didn't mean to come off snotty. :P

I don't eat anything processed except in the raresest of cases, so eating a frozen packaged meal just doesn't seem like the right choice to me. I bring frozen meals to work that I have made. I get more volume for less calories, no preservatives, and I never have to worry about contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, they can't. Both barley and rye are grains, not spices. They can not be hidden there. Seasonings, yes, but not "spices." No grain can be labeled as a spice.

Barley malt can also hide in 'natural flavors'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is EXACTLY my objection...they are not required to lable barley or rye. Both of those can be hidden easily in spices.

I don't want to argue but you're making it sound like I'm incorrect, and I'm not. It "may" be gluten-free but not guaranteed.

Never heard of barley being hidden in spices and I have yet in 9 years to find rye being hidden in anything at all. Do you have some examples of this happening?

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is EXACTLY my objection...they are not required to lable barley or rye. Both of those can be hidden easily in spices.

I don't want to argue but you're making it sound like I'm incorrect, and I'm not. It "may" be gluten-free but not guaranteed.

They DO lable when there IS barley or rye.

Nothing in life is guarenteed except death :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0