Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Velveeta
1 1

27 posts in this topic

So I am wanting to make some chili cheese dip with Velveeta. Is Velveeta gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Isn't that a Kraft product? Kraft labels all the important (gluten) allergens clearly.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't that a Kraft product? Kraft labels all the important (gluten) allergens clearly.

I have no idea who makes it. I'll have to check it at the store. I was just making my list and wondering if anyone knew. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Velveeta is made by Kraft (who clearly labels all sources of gluten) and YES! Velveeta is gluten free :)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As was pointed out before Kraft clearly labels all gluten containing ingredients in the ingredient list. Bookmark this link for future reference and you can check Kraft products easily! Kraft Products

Jim Shirley

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




As was pointed out before Kraft clearly labels all gluten containing ingredients in the ingredient list. Bookmark this link for future reference and you can check Kraft products easily! Kraft Products

Jim Shirley

what is it with you people?!! She asked a question and does not need to be answered back with replies like " CLEARLY" !! Why cant you just state here is a book mark to the link, instead of making some of us feel like we should know all of ingredients which may or may not contain gluten, especially since we might be new to this and seeking information.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have no idea who makes it. I'll have to check it at the store. I was just making my list and wondering if anyone knew. smile.gif

I was seeking the same information as you and came across this forum and was surprised to see the responses being so rude, especially since some of us are new to this and just seeking information.... but "CLEARLY" we should have a clue to all this!! :) 

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was seeking the same information as you and came across this forum and was surprised to see the responses being so rude, especially since some of us are new to this and just seeking information.... but "CLEARLY" we should have a clue to all this!! :)

First. What was so rude about asking if it was a Kraft product and telling her if it was, they will label well? I have since found out that Velveeta does appear to be gluten-free. I told her that Kraft labels clearly.

Second- this conversation was over 2 years ago. Why do you want to turn it into a fight with me at this point?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what is it with you people?!! She asked a question and does not need to be answered back with replies like " CLEARLY" !! Why cant you just state here is a book mark to the link, instead of making some of us feel like we should know all of ingredients which may or may not contain gluten, especially since we might be new to this and seeking information.

What "CLEARLY" means in this case is that Kraft (among several other big food companies) will clearly list gluten in the ingredients by naming the grain in question. If you don't see wheat, barley, rye or oats listed by those names, then the product contains no gluten. Indeed, if you telephone Kraft, they will give you the same answer that was given here: "Read the label. Gluten will be listed."

 

And yes, Velveeta is gluten-free.

Edited by psawyer
Karen and I were typing at the same time.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was seeking the same information as you and came across this forum and was surprised to see the responses being so rude, especially since some of us are new to this and just seeking information.... but "CLEARLY" we should have a clue to all this!! :)

Hon, you're totally misreading the sentences people have written and misinterpreting a "tone" that isn't even there..

 

The word clearly (when used an an adverb) just means "plainly and obviously" indicated...as in "wheat will be clearly stated on the label"..

 

Take a deep breath and read the replies again. No one is being rude here. Honest!! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I do not want to turn this into a fight and yes I know this was over 2 years ago, however, I was wondering the same thing about Velvetta cheese and this is were the link brought me to and I just surprised  at the response.  This is new to some of us and can be confusing at first, so sometimes its easier to get on line and ask for now until we get more familiar with the products and ingredients....   

First. What was so rude about asking if it was a Kraft product and telling her if it was, they will label well? I have since found out that Velveeta does appear to be gluten-free. I told her that Kraft labels clearly.

Second- this conversation was over 2 years ago. Why do you want to turn it into a fight with me at this point?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

YvetteLynn (love your name, by the way - I have a beloved cousin by the same name) What was said was this: "Kraft clearly labels all gluten containing ingredients". The "clearly" is just a way to kind of praise Kraft because they ARE so clear in their labelling. There are other companies who will only declare wheat because it is one of the top eight allergens, but not barley or rye because the law doesn't make them.

 

And the "as was pointed out before" was simply stating that the topic of Kraft's labeling policy had been discussed recently (as of two years ago). But if you still don't like Colorado1850's tone, notice that he only made 3 posts since joining two years ago and is long gone.

 

Don't let a misunderstanding chase you away. This is the most supportive and knowledgable group of people you will ever find, when it comes to celiac, and also on other topics too. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you :)

YvetteLynn (love your name, by the way - I have a beloved cousin by the same name) What was said was this: "Kraft clearly labels all gluten containing ingredients". The "clearly" is just a way to kind of praise Kraft because they ARE so clear in their labelling. There are other companies who will only declare wheat because it is one of the top eight allergens, but not barley or rye because the law doesn't make them.

 

And the "as was pointed out before" was simply stating that the topic of Kraft's labeling policy had been discussed recently (as of two years ago). But if you still don't like Colorado1850's tone, notice that he only made 3 posts since joining two years ago and is long gone.

 

Don't let a misunderstanding chase you away. This is the most supportive and knowledgable group of people you will ever find, when it comes to celiac, and also on other topics too. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks ;)

What "CLEARLY" means in this case is that Kraft (among several other big food companies) will clearly list gluten in the ingredients by naming the grain in question. If you don't see wheat, barley, rye or oats listed by those names, then the product contains no gluten. Indeed, if you telephone Kraft, they will give you the same answer that was given here: "Read the label. Gluten will be listed."

 

And yes, Velveeta is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not want to turn this into a fight and yes I know this was over 2 years ago, however, I was wondering the same thing about Velvetta cheese and this is were the link brought me to and I just surprised at the response. This is new to some of us and can be confusing at first, so sometimes its easier to get on line and ask for now until we get more familiar with the products and ingredients....

I had not used this product lately but thought it was a Kraft product. I gave Mo some info so that, in the future, she could find out for herself if a product contained gluten. I thought that would be helpful to her - to teach her how to find this info for herself. I told her that Kraft is very clear about what contains gluten by labeling it in an easy to understand manner. Others re- enforced that.

By the way - Mo did not find my answer rude.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was seeking the same information as you and came across this forum and was surprised to see the responses being so rude, especially since some of us are new to this and just seeking information.... but "CLEARLY" we should have a clue to all this!! :)

You are coming across as being rude to me.  And since you are new...  There is no one pat answer that will work for all things.  Sometimes an item can be gluten-free but then they change the formulation and it no longer is.  Not all things can be answered with "yes" or "no".  But in this case they can.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what is it with you people?!! She asked a question and does not need to be answered back with replies like " CLEARLY" !! Why cant you just state here is a book mark to the link, instead of making some of us feel like we should know all of ingredients which may or may not contain gluten, especially since we might be new to this and seeking information.

Ha ha I was searching the same thing, because I am at work without the box and am super new..  Now that I look back I see a smiley face..  But I though the same thing..  That's the thing with emails texts and forums..  I get in the most fights with my husband because we take things wrong sometimes.  :)  Have a super Day!  Super excited to find this out. 

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ha ha I was searching the same thing, because I am at work without the box and am super new..  Now that I look back I see a smiley face..  But I though the same thing..  That's the thing with emails texts and forums..  I get in the most fights with my husband because we take things wrong sometimes.  :)  Have a super Day!  Super excited to find this out.

To rephrase this: Kraft has an excellent ingredient labeling policy. They label all gluten ingredients clearly as in no odd names . There ingredients will say malt ( barley). Or some other clear and easy to read and understand text.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft will not hide gluten. Read the label. If it is not clearly listed on the label, it is not in the food.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some people seem to be extremely thin skinned. I have hardly ever seen a rude reply on this site, and then it was usually due to a misunderstanding. I find the people on this site to be among the most sincerely helpful anywhere.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok as a new member to this site and to the gluten free living I thought this should help bury the hatchet and the question. I came to this site as a quick answer for an already overwhelming life decision.

So for all of those like me here are the ingredients for the Velveeta cheese sauce: Whey, Milk, Whey Protein Concentrate, Canola Oil, Milk Protein Concentrate, Salt, less than 2% of Sodium phosphate, Potassium Phosphate, Milkfat, Lactic acid, sodium alginate, Sorbic acid as a preservative, paprika and annatto extract (for color), cheese culture, enzymes, natural flavors.  This comes directly from the box. For the nutritional facts via online here is the link: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/dairy-and-egg-products/163/1

 

 My question was about the whey protein, which as far as my searches can tell you honestly have to use your own discretion. best answer to that question I could find is this:  http://www.celiaccentral.org/answers-from-a-dietitian/Answers-from-a-Dietitian/494/month--201108/search--whey_20protein/vobid--5813/

 

I thought this was a site to help, so in that spirit I posted this like three to four years after the original question. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok as a new member to this site and to the gluten free living I thought this should help bury the hatchet and the question. I came to this site as a quick answer for an already overwhelming life decision.

So for all of those like me here are the ingredients for the Velveeta cheese sauce: Whey, Milk, Whey Protein Concentrate, Canola Oil, Milk Protein Concentrate, Salt, less than 2% of Sodium phosphate, Potassium Phosphate, Milkfat, Lactic acid, sodium alginate, Sorbic acid as a preservative, paprika and annatto extract (for color), cheese culture, enzymes, natural flavors.  This comes directly from the box. For the nutritional facts via online here is the link: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/dairy-and-egg-products/163/1

 

 My question was about the whey protein, which as far as my searches can tell you honestly have to use your own discretion. best answer to that question I could find is this:  http://www.celiaccentral.org/answers-from-a-dietitian/Answers-from-a-Dietitian/494/month--201108/search--whey_20protein/vobid--5813/

 

I thought this was a site to help, so in that spirit I posted this like three to four years after the original question.

yeah. That was some odd mis- understanding of the use of the word " clearly"! :)

Velveeta is gluten free. Many of us use it with no problems. Kraft will label if an ingredient is derived from wheat, rye or barley. Thus, the Kraft labels " clearly" statement.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not find it all that clear.  I just read my husband's new package of Velveeta cheese (mozzarella type) and one of the ingredients is "Modified Food Starch".  I have learned through not-so pleasant experience that this can mean that the "modified" starch DOES contain gluten, so clarity is out the window.  What would be helpful...and clear...is if Kraft would stamp the product as Gluten Free.  For me, the risk is too much and I won't be eating it as long as "Modified Food Starch" is in the list.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If any Kraft product has gluten, either as an ingredient or used in processing, it will say so on the label. Kraft even goes so far that if they process gluten ingredients on the same line  or facility, they will tell you. Kraft is a VERY trustworthy company. They are the good guys. I wish all companies had their policy.

As far as modified food starch, it is almost always from corn because corn is cheaper by far than wheat. If you find a product that has this ingredient, instead of ruling it out, contact the company.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, CharlieGirl said:

I do not find it all that clear.  I just read my husband's new package of Velveeta cheese (mozzarella type) and one of the ingredients is "Modified Food Starch".  I have learned through not-so pleasant experience that this can mean that the "modified" starch DOES contain gluten, so clarity is out the window.  What would be helpful...and clear...is if Kraft would stamp the product as Gluten Free.  For me, the risk is too much and I won't be eating it as long as "Modified Food Starch" is in the list.

It is recommended that all those new to Celiac invest in one of the many great books out there, written by nutritionists or medical professionals that teach about label reading.  Many companies will not put the easy gluten free stamp on their products, even though they are gluten-free, due to the sue happy people who exist today. Can't say that I blame them.

Modified food starch is gluten free unless labeled like this: modified food starch (wheat).  If there is wheat in the product, it must be declared and that is how it would appear on a label.  Most food starch is made from corn, at least in the US.  I have never been glutened by food starch and I have been gluten-free for 10 years.  The only time I have seen wheat labeled with it was on food products from Europe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,695
    • Total Posts
      921,775
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • My endoscopy showed i had decreased folds in my duodenum. The biopsy came back and showed that my villi were fine... i have been on a gluten free diet for 6 years because i was just told i was intolerant but never had any testing before. when i eat gluten i get sick for 2 weeks. i came down with issues of other foods in march so they were trying to figure out why and wanted to know if i had celiac are not because that would explain why dairy and fructose are a problem.. both intolerant test for both were negative but the fructose test made me extremely sick but it was negative...      Im trying to figure out why i have decreased  folds in the first place. my Gi doctor is stumped on that to why the endoscopy would show damage but the under the microscope are fine. She is going to call the dr who did my scope and then is supposed to get back to  me..    would being gluten free for 6 year make it so there was damage and then my vili are now fine but still cant be seen in the endoscope?
    • Spicely Organics has both cassia and true (Ceylon) Cinnamon and are certifed gluten free along with the rest of their spices, as to tea Republic of Tea has most of their products tested and certified gluten-free also. You can visit their sites or try Amazon.
    • Thanks for replying. I have been a vegetarian for 31 years, I guess my diet now means I am a vegan but not by choice. Blood tests have picked up a lack of protein and I have seen a dietician who said she couldn't help me and referred me to a specialist who deals with IBS, which I don't understand as I don't have that.   I don't know my blood glucose levels but I think I will find out. I know Hashimoto's and type 1 diabetes is common in Celiac's, I asked my doctor for a thyroid antibodies test but he refused but I'll ask for the type 1 diabetes antibodies test. Thanks again.
    • Hi thanks for this. The kidney function test I a few weeks ago came back normal but there was a question mark over ketones, they said it was all okay, then last week the doctor rang me as there was ketones in a urine sample and I have to repeat the test next week. I'm a bit confused if they weren't worried about the blood test.   I feel for your brother, that sounds awful what he's been through. I have started to get some pain in the leg that is permanently numb, I really hope I find some answers soon. Thanks again.
    • I haven't seen my gastroenterologist for a few years.  I was diagnosed celiac and have been gluten free for more than 5 years.  I've been having trouble again for the past 6 months or so.  I've done a full elimination diet and have come up with the culprit - eggs!   I did a search of the forum here and have found it's not uncommon for people with celiac to develop a sensitivity to eggs.     I can forego eating eating eggs but It's getting to be flu season.  I was planning on getting my flu shot today, as usual, at work.  The pre-shot questionnaire asks if I have an allergy to eggs.  As, I have never been tested, I don't know if this is really an "allergy".   I asked the nurse about it.  She said that if I do have an allergy to eggs,  it could be dangerous to get the vaccine.   So, I didn't ended up not getting the vaccine.  Anyone else in this boat.   Has anyone actually been tested for egg allergy?   Any advice as it pertains to the flu vaccine?  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,699
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    kkreuz
    Joined