Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Whoops!


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 lucky28

 
lucky28

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
 

Posted 28 June 2005 - 07:11 AM

Well I accidentally glutened myself last night at work. ( I work in a restaurant). I knew when I got home and my stomach was perculating, I was confused b/c it was so busy I literally didn't have time to eat b/c it was so busy, I haven't gotten a "official" diagnosis either so I was second guessing the cause of my D. then today I did some research and figured out that the shot of "apple-tini" (apple martini) that my boss poured for us at the end of the night was made from a grain type vodka :huh: whoops- but that also means my celiac theory still stands - I'll continue with gluten-free and be more careful in the future. in the mean time i'm gonna spend this first 1/2 of my day close to the b-room :P
  • 0
"They're my villi, and I need them NOW!"


Positive Biopsy- 08/11
Slightly positive tTG only- 06/11
Negative blood panel- 11/05
Diagnosed with IBS- 1981

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 rmmadden

 
rmmadden

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 218 posts
 

Posted 28 June 2005 - 07:42 AM

Lucky28-

Don't fret.....Slip-ups happen to all of us. This past weekend I almost ate a piece of hot dog bun at a cookout. I realized after I put the piece in my mouth and spit-it-out. So-far I'm not showing any negative signs from my near-miss.

Best of luck and hope you feel better!
Cleveland Bob B)
  • 0
"Dreams Are What The Future Is Made Of"

Endoscopy & Blood Work Positive.....
gluten-free Since December 2004.....
Soy Intolerant August 2007......

#3 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 28 June 2005 - 08:13 AM

Sorry you don't feel well, but grain-based distilled items are gluten-free unless there's gluten added after they're distilled. I haven't yet found a vodka, even those made with wheat, that isn't gluten-free (not that I've researched every vodka made).

richard
  • 0

#4 mommida

 
mommida

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,945 posts
 

Posted 28 June 2005 - 08:41 AM

It would be a good idea to keep a food diary. If you are reacting over and over agin to a distilled product that is supposed to be safe ( some people do ) then you can eliminate it from your diet, or you can realise that is was some fluke from cross contamination.
Laura
  • 0
Michigan

#5 lucky28

 
lucky28

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
 

Posted 28 June 2005 - 12:15 PM

It was a vodka from a local micro brew company-they make beer there too or I'm thinking it could have been from the "sour mix"? either way I'll stick to bacardi if I want a drink.
  • 0
"They're my villi, and I need them NOW!"


Positive Biopsy- 08/11
Slightly positive tTG only- 06/11
Negative blood panel- 11/05
Diagnosed with IBS- 1981




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: