Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Spices You Have Found To Have Gluten...
0

10 posts in this topic

can anyone help me out by listing the spices you have found to be gluten free and which are not? Some of my spices I have verified like my mrs. dash. But others I am not sure about.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I have never in my ten+ years found a spice which had gluten in it.

Seasoning mixes (including such things as curry powder and chili powder) with gluten are out there. But spices are usually single-ingredient products containing only the named spice. When spices appears in an ingredient list, it can not hide any grain product whether a gluten grain or not.

Mrs. Dash is a seasoning mix, not a spice. AFAIK, their products are all gluten-free. Some do contain non-spice ingredients such as tomato, lemon and onion.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nor I.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

McCormick's single ingredient spices are all safe. Here's some recent info on Mccormicks: http://www.gfreefoodie.com/are-mccormick-spices-gluten-free/

The main thing to think about is if you have old spices in your cabinet and have ever in the past dipped a measuring spoon in them that has been coated with flour dust from using it on the flour before measuring the spice, then the spice may be cc'd. The same thing goes if you have an old container of sugar and ever used the same measuring cups while baking, or just had the sugar container open while you measuered flour--flour dust can go up in the air and then settle in things.

While I have not seen any single spices and herbs with gluten I have seen a few dried herbs that say they "may contain wheat" or are "manufactured in a facility with wheat". In most cases this a CYA statement from the company and may not be a problem. I do grow a few of my own herbs however and dry them. It's so nice to have fresh herbs on hand to make gluten free foods tasty. Not to mention I save money by growing/drying them myself.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Spice mixtures can sometimes contain gluten - you know, like 'taco seasoning' or 'poultry seasoning' type of things. So those you want to check on.

2. The majority of spices have no gluten ingredients added, so if that's usually good for you, you're golden. However, the majority of spices are processed in the same facilities that are making the spice mixtures that DO contain gluten, so they can get CC. That seems to be more of a hit or miss type of thing, though. I've been hit often enough that I started growing my own herbs. However, my father (less sensitive) has never had a problem with pure spices ever, that I know of.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




1. Spice mixtures can sometimes contain gluten - you know, like 'taco seasoning' or 'poultry seasoning' type of things. So those you want to check on.

As I said, "seasoning" can contain hidden gluten. "Spices" can not. Read the ingredients carefully.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally speaking the worry about seasonings is overblown. Yes, a handful of seasoning blends (NOT spices, as Peter points out) do have gluten, but at least in the U.S. the gluten always comes from wheat and it's always listed.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I said, "seasoning" can contain hidden gluten. "Spices" can not. Read the ingredients carefully.

But it's not the ingredients that are the problem with pure spices, it's the CC that's a potential issue. So while reading the ingredient list is useful in finding out ingredients, not so much on the CC front.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But it's not the ingredients that are the problem with pure spices, it's the CC that's a potential issue.

Exactly!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/20/2010 at 0:21 PM, jerseyangel said:

Exactly!

"Many of Adams spice products are naturally gluten free. Adams does produce items that contain wheat in the spice manufacturing facility, as well as uses equipment that processes both allergens and non-allergens.

However, Adams does follow a strict Cleaning & Sanitation Procedure, as well as Allergen Segregation Practices and Allergen Scheduling to ensure that all allergens such as wheat/gluten will not be cross-contaminated.

By using these practices, it is unlikely that cross-contamination of wheat or other allergens in unacceptable levels will occur, though it is possible"

http://www.adamsextract.com/gluten.asp

I know this is an old post, but I'm having issues with, I believe, Adams spices.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,098
    • Total Posts
      920,347
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I eat them with no issues and know several other Celiacs that eat them with no issue.
    • I am sorry that you are sick! i think you need to really adhere to a gluten free diet that consists of ONLY whole foods (no processed gluten-free foods) and do not go out to eat, until you start to see improvement.  Each tiny gluten exposure can set you back.  It sounds like you really became even more ill after the gluten challenge.   I was just anemic when diagnosed.  I waited seven weeks for my endoscopy due to work issues, so i took the time to consume lots of gluten.  Like a loaf of sourdough per day not to mention all the cakes, cookies that I loved.  (Okay, I just ate a few out of each package......)  by the end of seven weeks, I knew I had celiac disease.  I had a bloated stomach visible under my left rib cage, pinching when I bent over, indigestion, etc.  Not to mention some weird Fibro pain my my shoulders, tingly legs, etc.   Most resolved, but it took about two years. If you  ask for thyroid panel, be sure it includes testing for thyroid antibodies.   
    • My daughter, who is almost 21 and has celiac disease, was diagnosed with Epilepsy a year ago. Hindsight being 20/20, we realized she had been having seizure since she was a teenager but the random passing out and feelings of being 'out of it' were attributed to dehydration or poor nutrition and sleep habits during numerous trips to the emergency room. In our reading about Epilepsy, I have found some mention of celiac and gluten issue connections and even where a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet provided a lot of improve the with frequency and severity of seizures.  I would be interested to know if anyone else shares this experience.
    • I have also reacted to various Planters products, believing them to be safe because gluten is not listed in the allergens but have had almost identical reactions to yours.  It did not occur to me that I might be getting zapped from them until just recently when I ate some of their Salt and Vinegar almonds and became really ill and then recognized that I had reacted to them before. I have notice in the past few months that the 'Hermans' brand nuts, which have never mentioned wheat in their allergens now carries the 'processed in a plant that processes wheat' disclaimer.  It makes me wonder if all nuts are processed in the same manner and if all nuts and nut products should be considered unsafe? I know that I will not trust the Planters brand any longer regardless of whether wheat is listed or not.
    • I've heard some people say that they're gluten free, and some say they're not.. I had a container of planter's cashews that I ate a few days ago and I haven't been feeling that great since then. I thought I was fine, but yesterday I woke up with a headache and was feeling really gassy all day. Then since last night, every once in a while I'll have some stomach cramps. They last for a few minutes and then go away.. that has happened 3 or 4 times since last night. It seems weird that I wouldn't have a reaction right away though.. or at least within a few hours of eating them. I ate some on thursday and on friday, and I didn't really start to feel sick until saturday. It's been a while since I last got glutened though, so maybe my reaction has changed? Or maybe I'm being paranoid and I just ate too many cashews haha. But that's the only thing I've eaten in the past like 2 weeks that was different. Has anyone else had a problem with planter's nuts?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,131
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Feralgurl
    Joined