Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Soy; Bad Or Ok?
0

9 posts in this topic

Is soy ok for celiacs to eat or is it one of those individual things like oatmeal?

Also, is being gluten sensitive have the same damaging effects on your villi as

a full blown celiac has? I dont get as sick as alot of people on here when glutenated

but I think I could be still getting the same damage as a full blown celiac, of which

I still consider myself a celiac. Sometimes the pain on my side is so bad I can barely

walk straight up.

Thanks.....Derrick

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Soy is gluten-free, but some people, including some celiacs, are unable to eat it. It is one of the FDA's top eight allergens, so it must be clearly disclosed on labels in the USA.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy is an individual thing, Derrick. There do seem to be a lot of us who do not tolerate it, but gluten and soy sensitivities do not go hand in hand. Some people think it's bad for everyone because of its hormonal effect but soy is generally considered to be a safe edible.

As for damage from gluten, gluten has different damaging effects in each individual. To say it is worse or not as bad - well, it's hard to quantify. Would you rather have D and/or C with cramps, or gluten ataxia and brain fog, or have it silently attack some other part of your body like your thyroid? Or suddenly end up with lymphoma? You will never know until it shows up what damage it is doing. And it doesn't matter if you have a diagnosis or not, if you are sensitive to it it is harming you.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies. Love this board, really helps me.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy SAUCE is not always gluten free. Some of it is made with wheat (check the label, it has to be disclosed in the US). Soy ALONE does not have gluten in it. However many do react to soy in various ways. I did a poll asking how many people here also avoid soy and the variety of reasons for avoiding it was wide. Some people might have an allergy, some might get the same symptoms from it as they get from glutening, some avoid it because they also have thyroid issues.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Soy SAUCE is not always gluten free. Some of it is made with wheat (check the label, it has to be disclosed in the US). Soy ALONE does not have gluten in it. However many do react to soy in various ways. I did a poll asking how many people here also avoid soy and the variety of reasons for avoiding it was wide. Some people might have an allergy, some might get the same symptoms from it as they get from glutening, some avoid it because they also have thyroid issues.

thanks......soy sauce kills me just like a big mac would. found san j organic tamari sauce, good substitute.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy is an individual thing, Derrick. There do seem to be a lot of us who do not tolerate it, but gluten and soy sensitivities do not go hand in hand. Some people think it's bad for everyone because of its hormonal effect but soy is generally considered to be a safe edible.

It is my understanding that, technically, soy has never been granted official GRAS (generally regarded as safe) status by the FDA. I will have to track down my source on that, though. Maybe Weston Price.. Price Pottinger.. Maybe Mercola.. Can't find it at present.

CS

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is my understanding that, technically, soy has never been granted official GRAS (generally regarded as safe) status by the FDA. I will have to track down my source on that, though. Maybe Weston Price.. Price Pottinger.. Maybe Mercola.. Can't find it at present.

CS

A little common sense, please. The GRAS lists are for additives and flavorings, not for whole foods that are obviously edible. I doubt carrots or chicken have been granted official GRAS status either. Anyone trying to invoke lack of GRAS status for a whole food like soy has an axe to grind and if that's the best argument they can come up with, they're in sad shape.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A little common sense, please. The GRAS lists are for additives and flavorings, not for whole foods that are obviously edible. I doubt carrots or chicken have been granted official GRAS status either. Anyone trying to invoke lack of GRAS status for a whole food like soy has an axe to grind and if that's the best argument they can come up with, they're in sad shape.

I consider myself educated now. Thank you. It is just something that stuck in the back of my mind from my early ventures into understanding gluten-free and all my other problems. One of those statements that, contextually, can be made without fibbing in order to put forth an agenda but isn't really true either. I guess that would mean I don't have GRAS status either.. thank heavens! (I will have to tell my wife I am dangerous now.)

CS

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.