Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac And Religion
0

22 posts in this topic

G'day everyone.

I'm having a bit of a dilemma at the moment, well not me, my girlfriend. a few months ago she was diagnosed with celiac and sinse she started a gluten free diet her health and mood has improved dramatically. I want to do and do do all I can to help her, always cook gluten free meals, we even bought a new toaster so she wouldn't get any cross-contamination. The only real problem is that her faith is really important to her. Not that that is a bad thing but she is Catholic and is used to taking communion every week at mass.

The problem is that the wafers (that symbolise the body of Christ) are made from wheat and contain gluten. Unfortunately there aren't really any gluten free options as the bread the Jesus and the disciples ate on the last supper was made with wheat and the wafer is supposed to be the same as that so my girlfriend can't take it. We have been at university the last couple of months so it is only the last few weeks, when we moved back home, that this has become a problem.

She knows that God will forgive her for only taking a blessing and not taking the bread but she sees the wafer as 'food for her soul' and feels horrible that she can't compoets mass the way she is used to. She even tried once just taking the wafer and had such cramps for therest of the day I have never seen her so depressed. And this Sunday gone was the first time she had not taken the communion and she cried for the rest of the mass and the car trip home.

I know there is a company that does gluten free wafers (I found their website already) but we live in rural Australia and it is not really feasible, on top of that she herself feels it won't be the same and did not take kindy to it when I offered it as an alternative.

So after that sob story (I'm sorry) my question is this. Someone else surely must have gone through something similar to this, either yourself or someone close to you and I could really use some help or ideas or something I can tell her apart from that it's going to be okay.

Any help would be amazing.

Thank you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

have her talk to the priest. Taking the wine is considered the same as the host. If her church doesn't have wine every week for everyone, maybe she can arrange something with the priest ( a little paper cup of wine).

This makes me mad, too. Jesus was poor and probably ate bread made of other grains most of the time. But the Pope doesn't take my calls so I just take the wine.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could always try these. It might be too much gluten for her, or perhaps you could break them smaller to lessen your exposure.

Here's an interesting article on communion and wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

have her talk to the priest. Taking the wine is considered the same as the host. If her church doesn't have wine every week for everyone, maybe she can arrange something with the priest ( a little paper cup of wine).

This makes me mad, too. Jesus was poor and probably ate bread made of other grains most of the time. But the Pope doesn't take my calls so I just take the wine.

Yes, this. I'm very blessed in that my home parish offers wine to everyone, so it's not been a big issue. But if her parish doesn't normally offer wine, she needs to talk to her priest. I've found that in most cases, they are helpful because their job is to ensure that the faithful receive the sacraments. I'm a music minister so I explained to my pastor why I would only receive the wine at Masses (in case some nosy-body made a big deal about it) and he even offered to look into the low-gluten hosts on my behalf. I've been receiving just the wine for the past year now and it hasn't been a big deal at all.

Now that I think about it, my celiac friend belongs to a small parish where there are a couple of other celiac and wheat-allergic parishoners. Their pastor arranged for them to have their own special small chalice of wine at one Mass each Sunday. Another poster here bought a pyx (small metal box in which to carry consecrated hosts) in which she places a low-gluten host and then gives it to the priest, who consecrates it with the other bread and then gives her the entire pyx at communion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just talked this over with my coworker, who's taught Sunday school for years. Her take on this is that it's a symbolic ritual, and you can receive the spirit without actually taking the wafer (or the wine, but if that's available to you then why not).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




fair enough. She's also Catholic, but I realize there's not really any unity in the Catholic church.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Transubstantiation isn't something that any RC church should not be unified on. It is one of the cornerstones of the church's teachings and one of the key differences between the RC church and protestant churches.

As an ex-Catholic, I was thinking about this just other day and wondered how communion was handled. It is an interesting discussion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

fair enough. She's also Catholic, but I realize there's not really any unity in the Catholic church.

There is unity of teaching, and transubstantiation is a non-negotiable. Unfortunately, there is often bad catechesis and it sounds as if your friend is the result. Catholics should not believe that the Eucharist is symbolic.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She is Vietnamese, and her information is from a priest who's congregation consists of people who spent years in hiding without access to any structured religion. Should I suggest she tell these people that no, in fact none of them communed with God while they were hiding? That baptizing your stillborn infants by yourself has condemned them to hell? That believing is nothing, only the physical is true?

When the structure of something becomes more important than the substance, I think something is wrong.

4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Should I suggest she tell these people that no, in fact none of them communed with God while they were hiding? That baptizing your stillborn infants by yourself has condemned them to hell? That believing is nothing, only the physical is true?

The Catholic church is pretty black and white on many issues, these included. Last I recall, anyway, when I was still a practicing Catholic church. I've always understood it to be one of the reasons why so many broke from the Catholic church, when protestantism got its start.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She is Vietnamese, and her information is from a priest who's congregation consists of people who spent years in hiding without access to any structured religion. Should I suggest she tell these people that no, in fact none of them communed with God while they were hiding? That baptizing your stillborn infants by yourself has condemned them to hell? That believing is nothing, only the physical is true?

When the structure of something becomes more important than the substance, I think something is wrong.

When I was in Catholic school, we learned that you can baptize dying babies or others if there is no priest there to do it. I think that in times of war and repression, you do the best you can.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm Reformed Baptist, so we don't believe in transubstantiation (it's more real spiritual presence and memorial view). We take Communion once a month. Last month was my first Communion since going gluten-free, and it caught me off guard! I help lead the music, and they brought the elements to me. I took the wine (okay, so it was juice...we're Baptists, ya know :lol: ), but passed on the wafer. This Sunday will be the second time, and I am not sure what to do. I guess I should ask my husband, since he's one of the church elders. ;)

I didn't know the gluten-free wafers existed, though. Since our church is not under the Pope's authority, and I don't know of any Biblical evidence that lists the ingredients used at the Last Supper (although I am aware that there is some tradition with Passover), I may have to look into getting some of those.

I bet if Peter was a Celiac, Jesus would have gotten him some rice wafers! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's hysterical!!!

I actually DO drink...and play bass...and I'm even going dancing tonight. :o

Back to the subject. I asked my pastor what he thought. Here is his (again, Protestant) answer:

1. Pray that God would restrain the effects for the sake of holy communion.

1a. Refrain from taking the bread and pray God restrain the effects of not taking.

2. Do #1 for this week and we'll get some gluten-free wafers from here on out that everyone would eat. I doubt anyone would know the difference since we expect communion wafers to be tastelessly weird anyway.

3. Do #1 for this week and then you could procure your own box of gluten-free wafers to use at future communions. Instead of taking one from the common tray, you'd just get one from your stash and eat it when the congregation eats theirs. To me, this would lessen the "one loaf" (common tray) sense of the meal, but that's just me.

4. Do #1 for this week and then we get some gluten-free wafers from here on out. Assuming they have a different appearance/texture/etc. we could include one in the common tray and instruct folks to leave it for you.

Who knew it was gluten, not leaven, that caused all the fuss?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the Bible originally might have read

Man cannot live by bread at all.

Accidentally translated to read

Man cannot live by bread alone.

Just food for thought.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone worry about CC when taking the wine?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone worry about CC when taking the wine?

Yes. I watch which cup the priest put the piece of host on so I don't take that one. I then only take the wine if I can be close to the front of the line. Then I only get the smallest drop possible. I have heard that some Celiacs have their own cups that are handed directly to them but I'm not sure of the logistics.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I started off taking the wafer and the juice(baptist ya'll ! ;) ) ..Because i wasnt really sure how i felt not being able to take the bread of the body.. But after I prayed about i realized, God allowed me to be a Celiac, right? Then do u honestly think he cares if I dont take the bread, that will make me sick for the rest of the day and the NEXT ! Think of all the people in nursing homes with feeding tubes etc, that cannot partake, God loves us all no matter what.. Its not like we are refusing to take part of communion , we are just taking care of the body HE GAVE US !!!

I usually take the bread, and pass it off to my husband to eat :) then pray over the wine ;) Religion is much more than worrying about being able to eat the bread, it is about realizing how much God loves us, enough to sacrifice His Son, in order that WE may live, And to try and live the life He would want us to.. ...PLUS one day we will be able to take communion with HIM, and eat alllll the wheat with out worry :lol:

4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sharpy,

I am catholic and I have chosen to not take communion. I came to that decision after taking communion after 2 weeks of being gluten free and was surprised to have a reaction. I never liked the idea of doing the shared wine cup and didn't like the idea of approaching the priest about low gluten hosts. That was two and a half years ago. I am comfortable with that decision but if I were a better catholic I probably wouldn't be. But what I also noticed is that I have felt a loss in the sense of community through the shared experience of taking communion. That may be what your girlfriend is going through. The suggestion of talking to the priest is a good one. As others have mentioned, taking the wine or a low gluten (but not a no gluten) host is equivalent to the regular host. And maybe there are other ministries within the church which she could participate in so as not to feel separated. If the church has it, maybe as a eucharistic minister which handles the wine. Good luck.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know if your denomination has any particular rules about this, but my church was very accepting of me when I became gluten-free. They allowed me to bring rice cakes the first couple of times, and then afterwards, the church has always had rice cakes for me and the other celiacs. So I would ask the pastor/priest and find out if they can help.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm so glad I read this. I am a member of the LDS church, or if you don't know that that means, I'm Mormon. I was still pretty doped up last week from my surgery so I didn't go to church. (I don't think God minds if I don't show up high.) Anyway, this will be my first Sunday back and it had never occurred to me that with sacrament every week this will be a concern for me. I'll probably make an appointment to talk with my bishop and see if I can be accommodated. (Which in our churches will almost certainly mean everyone goes gluten-free since the bread is passed on a tray.)

I have no fear that God prefers me happy and healthy and knows my heart even if I can't eat bread. I understand how important and meaningful it is to take part, I simply can not believe that a loving God would hold a piece of bread against anyone.

Oh, and thanks so much for bringing this up! Reading this now and having time to ponder and pray before Sunday will save me from spending an hour crying and being looked at sideways.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am Roman Catholic and all I, and other coeliac members,have to do is go to the priest before mass starts and let him know that we are there and wish to receive communion. He then consecrates that number of gluten free hosts and we go up first. I don't take wine as a piece of the 'regular' host is placed in it and people go for wine immediately after receiving the host and it's still in their mouths.

It's not peculiar to my local church. I have been at other churches in Scotland and I just go and introduce myself to the priest and explain that I have coeliac disease. It has never been an issue. The only difference I've found is that some priests ask me to go first and some ask me to go at the end.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,757
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Do you mean something like a protein powder you could mix up?  A lot of them in the US seem to be gluten free.  Maybe just go to your local store and read all the labels?
    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,692
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    EllianaEthan
    Joined