This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trusting Other People's gluten-free Cooking

domesticactivist

Trusting Other People's GF Cooking  

53 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

domesticactivist Collaborator

I'm new to this whole process of going gluten-free. When we started in November we didn't realize all the cross-contamination risks. It's only this week that we've finally finished decontaminating our kitchen (I think we have, anyway)...

In our community a *lot* of people are trying to be gluten-free. At first I thought this was great. I've been surprised that most of these people, however, haven't given a thought to the risks of cross contamination. I've had people tell me that heating our pans to 450 should be fine because "that would kill anything," (nevermind plenty of glutenous baked goods cook that high), ask me why we would replace our bamboo flatware tray (full of crumbs in the little cracks, and not dishwasher-washable), and not realize we had to go through our condiments, throw out old spices, get rid of old appliances used with wheat, or wood utensils, etc.

How do you deal with other gluten-free friends not being as stringent as you? (especially if you know they've done TONS of baking in their kitchens before going gluten free) Would you trust their gluten-free food as something that's ok occasionally?