13 replies to this topic

#1 Noche22

Noche22

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:07 AM

I am new to the Celiac Disease journey and I am wondering how people branch out for support. Do you find local support groups, go online such as this forum, family and friends? How did you begin your new life? I must admit I am very overwhelmed and not sure what avenues to use.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 celiac-mommy

celiac-mommy

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,692 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:40 AM

I'm in WA state. Where are you at? If you want to chat, pm me and I'll give you my contact info.

We started going to a support group 5 years ago, but I didn't find it overly helpful. This forum has been an invaluable resource to me!

Rachelle 20dance.gif

Daughter diagnosed 1/06 bloodwork and biopsy
-gluten-free since 1/06

Son tested negative-bloodwork (8/07), intestinal issues prompted biospy (3/08), results negative, but very positive dietary response, Dr. diagnosed Celiac disease (3/8)

#3 Noche22

Noche22

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 11:02 AM

I'm in WA state. Where are you at? If you want to chat, pm me and I'll give you my contact info.

We started going to a support group 5 years ago, but I didn't find it overly helpful. This forum has been an invaluable resource to me!

I am in Bellingham. Kind of up here...haha I just found this forum yesterday or the day before. I love it so far and I am thrilled to have found sooooo many answers to so many questions I have.

In weeks time, I will begin another whole ballgame. I have more chemical testing to get done at Swedish :(

#4 burdee

burdee

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,400 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:01 PM