Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Need Help! Acceptable Drinks To Order At The Bar?

• Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 Jess_Ay

Jess_Ay

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:14 PM

So.. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease a few months ago, so I am relatively new to all the restrictions. Last night I went out with my friends as is our tradition on Thursday nights. I've been struggling trying to figure out what is safe to order at the bars. Usually I play it safe and order hard cider that I know is gluten free, but it is expensive. They have deals for well drinks all the time, and last night I tried cranberry vodka. This morning I had quite a bad reaction (Big D, if you know what I mean.. actually HUGE D), and the cranberry vodka is really the only questionable thing from last night/yesterday.

When you go out to the bar, what are some safe drinks to order? It's difficult because the bars we go to are always packed with college kids and not exactly the best environment to have a lengthy conversation with one of two bartenders about the gluten business. I tried to keep it simple, but is it possible that whatever cranberry "juice" they used contained gluten?

Also, what's the deal with the alcohol? I thought that everything distilled was gluten free. Is that not true? Some girl I met here with Celiac disease said that the more expensive vodkas usually contain gluten. Just wondering for future reference.

Thanks for the help :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 smiley1131994

smiley1131994

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 01:30 PM