This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Help! Acceptable Drinks To Order At The Bar?

Jess-Ay

Jess-Ay Rookie

So.. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease a few months ago, so I am relatively new to all the restrictions. Last night I went out with my friends as is our tradition on Thursday nights. I've been struggling trying to figure out what is safe to order at the bars. Usually I play it safe and order hard cider that I know is gluten free, but it is expensive. They have deals for well drinks all the time, and last night I tried cranberry vodka. This morning I had quite a bad reaction (Big D, if you know what I mean.. actually HUGE D), and the cranberry vodka is really the only questionable thing from last night/yesterday.

When you go out to the bar, what are some safe drinks to order? It's difficult because the bars we go to are always packed with college kids and not exactly the best environment to have a lengthy conversation with one of two bartenders about the gluten business. I tried to keep it simple, but is it possible that whatever cranberry "juice" they used contained gluten?

Also, what's the deal with the alcohol? I thought that everything distilled was gluten free. Is that not true? Some girl I met here with Celiac disease said that the more expensive vodkas usually contain gluten. Just wondering for future reference.

Thanks for the help :)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

smiley1131994 Newbie