This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New.. From California And New England :)

Jess-Ay

Jess-Ay Rookie

Hello there! I was diagnosed with Celiac disease in August. Actually, I received the call from the GI guy about my biopsy results when I was in a crowded airport on my way back to college (in new england). That was a joyful day, obviously :)

I found that the doctors I dealt with back home were pretty awful, actually. I'm a 4th year nursing student and am well aware of the importance of educating patients.. especially those newly diagnosed with a disease. However, all I was told was.. "yeah, you need to avoid gluten now." I didn't know much about this disease or what exactly gluten was. Therefore, I had to do a lot of research on my own. I'm still learning everyday what I specifically need to avoid, and how to cook (which is new for me). I recently got my latest lab results back and apparently I'm still not completely gluten free, which is frustrating to discover after all the effort I've been making.

It's been difficult transitioning, especially being so far from home. I have a really supportive family way out in California who always let me pick the restaurants when we go out to eat and cook gluten free meals when I'm home. My friends are great at school too. I'm finding that the hardest part for me so far is not being able to eat the available junk food and pizza on the weekends.. you know, late night munchies. I always get very excited to meet other people who make a life out of avoiding gluten, but they are few and far between.