9 replies to this topic

#1 Chrissie

Chrissie

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 January 2011 - 07:52 AM

Outback Steakhouse boasts a gluten-free menu. Last night after a steak and salad (just veggies) I shared their Thunder Down Under Desert described as a gluten-free brownie with ice cream, hotfudge, whipped cream. I was in the bathroom an hour later.
Just wondered if others had had this experience. I'm new to this, three months Gluten free and feeling soo much better! So this was a disappointment.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Darissa

Darissa

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts

Posted 22 January 2011 - 10:47 AM

Outback Steakhouse boasts a gluten-free menu. Last night after a steak and salad (just veggies) I shared their Thunder Down Under Desert described as a gluten-free brownie with ice cream, hotfudge, whipped cream. I was in the bathroom an hour later.
Just wondered if others had had this experience. I'm new to this, three months Gluten free and feeling soo much better! So this was a disappointment.

I have eaten their thunder down under desert many many times! I really love it. I am very sensitive to CC, and it has never bothered me. I do have to share the desert, becuase if I eat too much of it, there is so much fat in the cake and icecream, that the fat contect bothers me, but I have never gotten sick from gluten from it. Good luck. Don't be afraid to try it again....

#3 BethJ

BethJ

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 162 posts

Posted 22 January 2011 - 11:15 AM

I LOVE this dessert! I've eaten it a number of times and never got sick, but I have gotten sick from their vegetables. Be sure to always order them without seasoning. There's something in their seasoning butter that gets me every time if I'm not careful when I order. I got my husband's veggies once and had taken one bite before I realized we had them switched. Big mistake!
Beth in Florida