Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kikkomen gluten-free
0

20 posts in this topic

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

I just heard about this soy sauce on another website and then several others. I also heard that their regular soy sauces are supposedly gluten-free and there is talk about that on this site. These two thoughts combined compel me to wonder; Why does Kikkoman need to make a soy sauce that is gluten free if they already claim their other soy sauces are naturally gluten-free due to the processes which break down the gluten much like fermentation? Sounds like another money making scheme to me. I've also noticed that according to others it seems that there is no safe standard of gluten, it varies by country/organization. I say if you are not affected then give it a shot. I will mention this to my doctor the next time I see him and then my regular md. It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanusa.com/product_locator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanu...cator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not exactly on their site but there is a letter: http://surefoodsliving.com/2007/05/kikkoman-soy-sauce-claims-its-ok/ and then see these sites: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php

http://www.glutenfreeceliacweb.com/2006/05/08/gluten-free-soy-sauce/ see Shirlee Finn's comment

http://surefoodsliving.com/2011/01/kikkoman-gluten-free-soy-sauce-new-product/ please read this site it is important.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I'm not sure how accurate their tests were but I doubt that the letter is a forgery. I may contact them soon regarding that letter just to be sure. If it is fake or not very accurate then they should have a gluten-free option but as I said before it wouldn't change much. Now with all these gluten-free companies we should expect more competition and lower prices but that is not the case. :(

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll send an email to my old friend who is a VP for Kikkoman in Tokyo and see if he can get a us an answer. Personally I think its very dangerous to us for celiacs. The distillation process is not 100% and the sauce is sometimes "finished" with more wheat extract. San-J is my favorite although recently I use more Braggs aminos which is better than soy sauce and has no salt just tastes that way.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

just heard back that kikkoman is in the process of rolling out a new gluten-free soy sauce in the US market. could not get more details on how its produced ( dedicated factory etc.) or where it is available in the US -- just that its not everywhere yet.

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the inside scoop!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,697
    • Total Posts
      921,781
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • It only takes a minute to make a difference. Celiac disease has been overshadowed by the gluten-free diet fad. Getting diagnosed and staying healthy is no piece of cake – those of us who have celiac disease struggle to stay healthy. We need better. We need to be understood. We need a cure. View the full article
    • If you are one of the approximately 2-3 million Americans with celiac disease, ZyGluten™ may be taken before you eat out at a restaurant or a friend\'s house, as it may help break down any gluten cross-contamination that you might encounter. View the full article
    • Advil (ibuprofen) is gluten-free, but can be a stomach irritant, especially if taken on an empty stomach. That said, I will also place my bet on the garlic and onions. As Raven said, eating more than once a day may also help. An empty stomach is likely to be an irritable stomach.
    • Another link: http://naldc.nal.usda.gov/download/7351/PDF
    • Thanks for posting.  I know it is difficult to talk about these sorts of things even on a webforum.  It is good thing for people to be aware though about celiac disease and that it can cause mental problems.  Gluten can cause brain damage and it can cause anxiety. If the brain does heal it may take a long time. I know that gluten can cause anxiety and obsessive thoughts.  My experience has been similar to your experience. When I first quit eating gluten I had a similar constant loop and strong negative feelings. There are lots of people on this forum who get anxiety when they eat gluten. Some people also experience gluten withdrawl where they experience anxiety after giving up gluten. It can take a long time for the body to heal and for obsessive thoughts to go away.
       It is normal for people to socialize with each other and to be comfortable about it. You said you have problems still socializing and being around people. It might be a depressing thought but it sounds to me like you still have problems with anxiety.  I would recommend considering what options you have available to treat the anxiety. When I quit eating Gluten I still had some symptoms, even though I felt much better. I have been slowly recovering over a period of about three years. I had obsessive thoughts even after I quit eating gluten.  Now I very rarely if at all think about those things. My experience is that my mind would latch on to certain things that caused me anxiety and focus on those things. Sometimes my focus would shift and I would latch onto other things. My ability to socialize has also improved greatly with time. I have made some dietary changes which I believe have helped greatly. It sounds to me like you have obsessive thoughts about things and maybe some brain damage. My experience has been that my obsessive thoughts about different things went away with time. I feel my obsessive thoughts were caused by gluten and not by what people did around me or any events. As my brain healed I became more self aware and things became less stressful.  I can't give medical advice on this forum but I can talk about my current diet and my experience with celiac disease. My experience with gluten is different from a lot of other people so it is a good idea to ask other people and to talk to a doctor.  I avoid oats and avoid almost all processed foods. I buy certified gluten free food. I eat healthy and I exercise every day. I take st John's Wort as I have read studies that say it may be as effective as some other anti-depressants for treating certain types of anxiety. It is available over the counter. I started with a small dosage and then stepped it up over time. I think it helps a lot.  This is also something that you should talk to a doctor about first. https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Martin_Mahoney2/publication/7426926_St._John's_wort/links/540d8acc0cf2f2b29a386673.pdf A lot of people with celiac disease have vitamin deficiencies.  Vitamin b deficiency can cause anxiety. Some people do not process the synthetic form of vitamin b (from normal pills)  very well, and do better on an activated form of vitamin b. I take:
      1 activated vitamin b12 daily
      1 activated vitamin b6 every once in a while. 1 regular vitamin b multivitamin
      1 magnesium pill every day.
      St Johns Wort daily.
      1 zinc vitamin daily
      I drink lots of Chamomile tea and decaf coffee. I avoid most caffeine. 
      I think each of these helps lower my anxiety level.  I eat fruit with every meal. Canned fruit from walmart is cheap and good for you. I eat salad and and vegetables and avoid dairy.  I eat frozen fish often as it has healthy proteins. Eating healthy is very important. I eat potatoes and rice. http://www.livestrong.com/article/454179-what-is-methyl-b12/ I avoid eating soy sauce, soy, cheese, aged meats and fermented foods (I do drink certain types of alcohol in moderate amounts.) These foods contain lots of Tyramine. I might (or might not) have "monoaine oxidase deficiency" and if so high Tyramine foods should be avoided.  I thought I might have problems with elevated ammonia in my blood, but I am not convinced of that anymore. I limited my consumption of meat for a while as well as dairy but I am not sure if i helped.  I have heard that Celiac disease can effect other organs besides the brain and those organs can have an effect on the brain.  My current diet is working so I am going to stick with it for now. I try not to worry about things that are outside of my control. Be patient as it took me a long time to recover.  Let me know if you have any questions. There is a lot of information on this site and people who are willing to help.
       
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,702
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Gigi Fagon
    Joined