Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kikkomen gluten-free
0

20 posts in this topic

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

I just heard about this soy sauce on another website and then several others. I also heard that their regular soy sauces are supposedly gluten-free and there is talk about that on this site. These two thoughts combined compel me to wonder; Why does Kikkoman need to make a soy sauce that is gluten free if they already claim their other soy sauces are naturally gluten-free due to the processes which break down the gluten much like fermentation? Sounds like another money making scheme to me. I've also noticed that according to others it seems that there is no safe standard of gluten, it varies by country/organization. I say if you are not affected then give it a shot. I will mention this to my doctor the next time I see him and then my regular md. It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanusa.com/product_locator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanu...cator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not exactly on their site but there is a letter: http://surefoodsliving.com/2007/05/kikkoman-soy-sauce-claims-its-ok/ and then see these sites: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php

http://www.glutenfreeceliacweb.com/2006/05/08/gluten-free-soy-sauce/ see Shirlee Finn's comment

http://surefoodsliving.com/2011/01/kikkoman-gluten-free-soy-sauce-new-product/ please read this site it is important.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I'm not sure how accurate their tests were but I doubt that the letter is a forgery. I may contact them soon regarding that letter just to be sure. If it is fake or not very accurate then they should have a gluten-free option but as I said before it wouldn't change much. Now with all these gluten-free companies we should expect more competition and lower prices but that is not the case. :(

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll send an email to my old friend who is a VP for Kikkoman in Tokyo and see if he can get a us an answer. Personally I think its very dangerous to us for celiacs. The distillation process is not 100% and the sauce is sometimes "finished" with more wheat extract. San-J is my favorite although recently I use more Braggs aminos which is better than soy sauce and has no salt just tastes that way.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

just heard back that kikkoman is in the process of rolling out a new gluten-free soy sauce in the US market. could not get more details on how its produced ( dedicated factory etc.) or where it is available in the US -- just that its not everywhere yet.

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the inside scoop!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,657
    • Total Posts
      921,628
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi, you can try reporting your own post.  That should alert the site admin of your request.  I don't think they can delete your posts, but changing your user name may be possible.
    • Hi Pablito, Welcome to the forum! You are right, you should keep eating gluten  until the tests are all done.  The skin problems you describe ma be a condition only celiacs get.  The condition is called dermatitis herpetiformis (DH for short),  DH causes an itchy rash that is usually symetrical on the body.  You get the rash on both arms or legs etc.  It makes little blisters on the skin.  They are caused by IgA antibodies in the skin.  There i a test for DH where they take a small skin sample (biopsy) from the skin next to a blister and check it for IgA antibodies.   If they find DH, then you have celiac disease.  The 2 conditions are never separate.  there is a section of this forum dedicated to dermatitis herpetiformis with lots more information. The usual diagnostic process is to do a celiac antibodies blood test first, and then an endoscopy to test for damage to the gut lining.  But with DH, it is better to get the skin biopsy done instead of the endoscopy. Celiac disease is passed on in genes, so your children should be tested also if you are diagnosed.
    • Research Celiac Ataxia for potential diagnosis. Look at Milk and dairy for potential head and sinus related issues.  I stopped dairy and I can breathe now! Saturated fat may also be a problem, but it's mostly dairy!
    • It is best not to try and do this on your own. Talk to your allergist. Not all will deal with food intolerances but if yours doesn't find one who will.  Mine had me fill out a very detailed diet questionaire and tested for true allergies before he gave me my starting point. I will admit I wasn't real happy with my starting point since none of my usual foods were on it. He said that I was most likely to react to foods I ate the most so most of the 5 I either rarely ate or didn't really like. The prescribed starting point he formulated was designed to make sure I had adaquate nutrition and enough calories.   It took about 2 weeks before a lot of my tummy issues resolved and I was then able to start adding foods in one at a time for a week before moving on to the next.  He said food intolerance reactions can take up to a week to show up so I had to be sure it was a full week between food additions. I did have to call three offices before I found a doctor who could do the formulation of the diet but this guy truely saved my life. Out of all the doctors I had seen, including specialists in big hospitals, he was the one responsible for finally realizing I was celiac. He of course referred me back to my clueless GI doctor who confirmed the diagnosis by almost killing me with a gluten challenge. I should note that some of my intolerance (not gluten of course) did resolve after I had healed. Even dairy which I hadn't been able to have for years! I hope you can get some answers and are able to heal soon.
    • I'm 43 years old. I'm married and have two teen daughters. After all these years it was one of my daughters who tonight said to me: "you probably have Celiac disease" after hearing my wife and I talking about all the pimples I always get on my arms. I never heard of the disease but I have heard about a lot of people having gluten allergies and didn't know they were the same thing. So I started looking it up on the internet. Turns out I have had all the symptoms all my life and no one has ever said anything about it possibly being Celiac disease. When I was a kid my doctor gave me prescriptions to antibacterial soaps to use for the arm pimples. Hibitane I think was one of them. And I've always had swollen looking ankles as long as I can remember. All my life people have noticed it. As a kid and teen I played lot's of sports and have broken my ankles and sprained them so my mom and I brushed it off at that and so did my family doctor when I was young.  But I always thought it was weird that the swelling continued all these years.  I have had a bloated feeling stomach all my life too and chronic diarrhea. My stomach is always hard and swollen feeling. Not ever knowing what that stuff was related too so I have never mentioned the bloat or diarrhea to a doctor. Just kind of embarrassing I guess. As my wife and I were reading about Celiac Disease on the internet together tonight she pointed out to me that that's probably why these symptoms almost all went away when I did a very low carb diet for about a year straight to lose weight a couple years ago. I had solid bowel movements, no bloat, ankle swelling went down but I thought the improvements were from weight loss and just eating healthier . But perhaps in reality it probably had a lot more to do with not eating all the wheat products/gluten products. So tomorrow I will be seeing my doctor to talk to him about it and to ask for the blood tests. I have read that I should continue eating gluten though until my testing is done. So that is crappy but I guess it's better to know for sure. Something else I think I should point out too is that I get headaches quite a bit after having big meals. Now I am thinking that may have something to do with the gluten too. I have read that some people with Celiac also get headaches with the other symptoms. It's great to see there is a forum like this to help people out with these issues. If I test positive for Celiac I will for sure be following this forum closely for advice and diet/nutrition help.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,657
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    pablito
    Joined