Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kikkomen gluten-free
0

20 posts in this topic

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I wanted to let everyone know to be on the look-out for Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce..... this was my favorite before gluten-free so I'm excited they finally have made a gluten-free soy sauce.....

I just heard about this soy sauce on another website and then several others. I also heard that their regular soy sauces are supposedly gluten-free and there is talk about that on this site. These two thoughts combined compel me to wonder; Why does Kikkoman need to make a soy sauce that is gluten free if they already claim their other soy sauces are naturally gluten-free due to the processes which break down the gluten much like fermentation? Sounds like another money making scheme to me. I've also noticed that according to others it seems that there is no safe standard of gluten, it varies by country/organization. I say if you are not affected then give it a shot. I will mention this to my doctor the next time I see him and then my regular md. It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanusa.com/product_locator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

I would not feel comfortable using the regular Kikkoman soy sauce. It used to be my favorite, too, but I dumped it when I went gluten-free. I am looking forward to trying the new gluten-free version. Anyone know when it's going to be available...or is it already? I haven't yet seen it.

This from the Kikkoman website:

All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is naturally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color. Besides using it in traditional Asian dishes, try it in mainstream American foods, classic Mediterranean dishes or exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Ingredients

WATER, WHEAT, SOYBEANS, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE; LESS THAN 1/10 OF 1% AS A PRESERVATIVE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not that I would go out of my way to by regular soy sauce but if a dish has it then it probably has Kikkoman and should be relatively safe.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




It is available and here is the product locator: http://www.kikkomanu...cator/index.php but the results are somewhat limited.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

It's supposedly available at my local Food Lion. I was just there today and saw regular Kikkoman, but no gluten-free. Right now I have San-J Tamari sauce so will check Giant Foods next time I'm there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Never ever assume a soy sauce is gluten free. Most are made with wheat as well as soy. Regular Kikkoman soy sauce has wheat as the second ingredient even before the soy. I would not touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right I always check the label and I'm fully aware that it is the second ingredient but they claim that through their process that it is filtered out/distilled out (neutralized). It is essentially the same with the distilled alcohols. Some people still get sick from distilled alcohol and some will probably get sick with this processed soy sauce. It depends upon the individual. This is the second biggest reason why I usually avoid this and other gluten-free sites; because people even get sick on gluten-free products. It's rather scary and depressing. I have no problem with gluten-free products but I hate reading about other peoples misery. Also I can read the labels with no problem and if I was really unsure I can always call the company. I think later on it might be worth a try for me anyhow. I was reading an interesting story and it offered some hope as to a treatment: http://blog.attunefoods.com/2011/04/probiotics-and-gluten-sensitivityceliac-disease/ Even if this is not it I really believe that one day there will be either a treatment or cure as long as the gluten-free companies don't become too powerful and make it too much of a profit for themselves. Some gluten-free food is pretty good but it's also pretty expensive and having a choice would be nice.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not exactly on their site but there is a letter: http://surefoodsliving.com/2007/05/kikkoman-soy-sauce-claims-its-ok/ and then see these sites: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php

http://www.glutenfreeceliacweb.com/2006/05/08/gluten-free-soy-sauce/ see Shirlee Finn's comment

http://surefoodsliving.com/2011/01/kikkoman-gluten-free-soy-sauce-new-product/ please read this site it is important.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Are you saying that Kikkomen is saying it's gluten-free even with wheat? Is that on their website?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an additional reply I'm adding this. In the letter they say that there regular soy sauce is gluten-free because of the process but then they go ahead and make a 100% gluten-free soy sauce. If it is gluten-free because of the process and according to the Codex then there is no need for a gluten-free product. It is just there for people that need the 100% guarantee but it will be a long time before restaurants adapt, if ever. You know how hard it is to explain this in an American English speaking restaurant, try a Chinese, Korean, or Japanese restaurant. I could go on and on for hours here but my point is that there is no reason for Celiac people to rejoice as if there is a cure or to expect that if you go into an Asian restaurant that they will have this or know what you are talking about. I usually stick to one Chinese restaurant that has the Kari Out sauce but the owner only carries it because it is a "low sodium" choice not because of the gluten-free part. It is no different than all the other gluten-free soy sauce choices because many dishes are already prepared, especially in Korean restaurants which I frequent because my wife is Korean. Now all you need to check is to make sure they don't add flour if you can have regular soy sauce and other grains if you suspect that they are in the food but not being allowed to have the soy sauce is like eating cake without frosting.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Kikkomen sent you a letter saying that the regular soy sauce is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, please see my post above the one that you replied to. I list about four sites that have the info but one site is two different pages.

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would try Whole Foods, they usually carry lots of gluten-free products.

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

Sorry. I missed that. It looks like someone got a letter from Kiikomen. I'm still not chancing it but that's me.

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I'm not sure how accurate their tests were but I doubt that the letter is a forgery. I may contact them soon regarding that letter just to be sure. If it is fake or not very accurate then they should have a gluten-free option but as I said before it wouldn't change much. Now with all these gluten-free companies we should expect more competition and lower prices but that is not the case. :(

No Whole Foods around here (or Wegman's either)

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll send an email to my old friend who is a VP for Kikkoman in Tokyo and see if he can get a us an answer. Personally I think its very dangerous to us for celiacs. The distillation process is not 100% and the sauce is sometimes "finished" with more wheat extract. San-J is my favorite although recently I use more Braggs aminos which is better than soy sauce and has no salt just tastes that way.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

just heard back that kikkoman is in the process of rolling out a new gluten-free soy sauce in the US market. could not get more details on how its produced ( dedicated factory etc.) or where it is available in the US -- just that its not everywhere yet.

Just heard back from the Kikkoman VP buddy in Japan who has never heard of any gluten-free soy sauce that they make but is going to ask the president of their overseas division when he seems him later today. He did say that what he knows about is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the inside scoop!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,662
    • Total Posts
      918,515
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Costco
      This forum post came up when I Google searched Kirkland Dish Soap. I called them today and they said there is no gluten in the dish soap. Janis 
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      In light of the studies that found some probiotics that are labeled gluten-free yet tested over 20ppm I wouldn't touch them. Now those would be the powder or pill forms. Yogurt is not affected by that. Since you don't have a problem with dairy then I would say eat some yogurt every day. I like Chobani Greek because it has more kinds of cultures. Remember now that powder or pill forms of probiotics do not come under the gluten-free labeling law. The same for OTC & prescription meds. You need to check every single one of those. There are a few online sites where you can check things like that or ask here but as far as prescription meds -- call the manufacturer EVERY TIME. I also wanted to tell you in case you didn't already know that since celiac is genetic and can present at ANY age then all your first degree relatives need to be tested every 2 years in the absence of symptoms and immediately if symptoms present between the 2 year periods. As far as the digestive enzymes go, I tried Digest Gold for a short time & it really didn't seem to do anything for me however I will say I had a lot of issues going on at the time so I might not know if they helped or not. I decided to quit them in order to take that out of the equation so I could try to pin down what was causing me distress. The fewer things in the mix you know. I have heard people report the same as your consultant said. Some say they helped & some say they didn't. Remember Jammy, you're just in the beginning stages. I KNOW you want to heal & heal FAST. Been there, done that! It's like this: you didn't get sick overnight & you're not going to heal overnight. Patience is the watchword here. It's hard I know! You just want to get on with your life. We can all relate.  Again, I'm going to say to eat foods easy on your gut. WELL cooked foods. No raw carrots, coconut, nuts & stuff like that. Easier on your gut would be nut butters.... peanut butter, cashew butter, almond butter etc.... It's sort of like being a baby ---  soft, easy to digest foods. Bone broth is a great healer for you gut & extremely nutritious as well as being easy on the digestion. Here's just one recipe: http://wellnessmama.com/5888/how-to-make-bone-broth/
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      Thanks for the tip! Will try that out in the next few days. By the way, has anyone had any joy with probiotics or digestive enzymes in terms of symptom relief/speeding up the healing process? I asked my consultant about this when I saw him last week and he said that some people find them beneficial while others don't, but obviously I'm keen to try anything that may help, with uncomfortable fullness/bloating/gas still being my main issue  - is it worth giving them a go?
    • Are The Following Gluten-free?
      I realize that this is an old thread but I would just like to say something about label reading. Just because a product says gluten free on the label doesn't mean that you don't have to read any further and can have complete trust in the product.  There are a lot of products that state that they are gluten free on the package and then you find out that they are processed in plants that also produce wheat products. If you are super sensitive, you need to know that information. I am afraid that there is no escaping reading labels in supermarkets unless you know that the company makes it's products in a truly gluten free environment (even then you should read labels because ingredients can and do change, even in products made in gluten free facilities), It's a pain to stand there and read labels but if you are super sensitive, you might just have to do that. For example, I am gluten and lactose intolerant but also sensitive to nuts and sesame. While it may be fine for other gluten intolerant people to eat something that's labeled gluten free which is produced in a gluten free facility that also processes nuts, for me it is not.. 
    • Golden Bell Pepper Soup (Gluten-Free)
      Dipping your spoon into this bell pepper–sweet potato combo is like dipping into a bowl of sunshine. It's stunning—and the perfect antidote to a gloomy winter's day. This soup also freezes well, so if you're not serving a crowd, store the leftovers for a later date (or make a double batch). I like to enjoy this soup accompanied by my Massaged Kale Salad with Spicy Hazelnuts View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,753
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    The sweet cheeks
    Joined