Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Taco Bell Ground Beef
0

10 posts in this topic

Just read this and thought I'd pass the info on for anyone that likes to eat at Taco Bell. Personally, I haven't eaten there in a long time, but dairy is also an issue for me. But, apparently, there has been a class-action suit lodged against Taco Bell because their "seasoned ground beef" isn't enough real beef to qualify. Its mostly filler and the ingredients listed was intersting. Here's the link I read this from..... decide for yourself. http://www.mouseprint.org/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Not enough real meat........no celiac should be partaking of this anyway--- Wheat is clearly labeled in the ingredient listing. Tacos at Taco Bell is not safe for celiac.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not enough real meat........no celiac should be partaking of this anyway--- Wheat is clearly labeled in the ingredient listing. Tacos at Taco Bell is not safe for celiac.

Yes, and that's why I posted this. Just in case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got taken by Taco Bell my first week on the diet. I learned the hard way to never assume that what the menu describes as beef is actually beef! I just feel bad for people who don't have to double check before ordering. They have no clue what type of fillers and additives they are eating. It's funny because of all those pet food commercials talking about how their product is made with real meat and no fillers. People are probably buying that for their dog and eating Taco Bell thinking it's just seasoned beef! lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We can't eat this anyway but it should have been clear to anybody who knows meat that this was not anything close to 100 percent beef. The texture and taste are completely wrong. HOWEVER, those fillings in the beef are in fact part of the taste of a Taco Bell taco and there are people who absolutely love that taste (I wasn't one). Take out the fillings and you change the taste.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




One thing I will say being a newbie to the world of celiac is that it definitely has made me more aware of what is going into my body. The first time I went grocery shopping after my diagnosis was an eye-opening experience. It really made me think and make better food choices. Most people who don't have allergies or a disease like celiac never think twice about what is in things. I like the convenience of processed food, but it comes at a price.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In no way am I suggesting that these are safe for Celiacs.

Having said that, I remember not too long ago that the ingredients only listed "oats", instead of "oats (wheat)". I suspect they changed that to alert us to the fact that oats may likely be contaminated with wheat, ie. there is no actual wheat added as an ingredient. It's a CYA thing.

If that is the case, the amount of wheat that could possibly be in one taco would be extremely minute. When I was diagnosed, my doctor told me oats were safe. He wasn't aware of the contamination issue back then. I ate oatmeal quite a bit in those days and never once got a reaction. I also ate quite a few Taco Bell tacos.

I'm not saying the lack of a reaction or symptoms also meant there was no damage being done to my villi, I'm just telling my story.

BTW, I think there's some misguided thinking going on here. Of course there's other ingredients besides beef. There has to be taco seasoning, which includes some kind of thickener. Only 3-4 years ago you could barely find a taco seasoning without wheat. Now, luckily for us, most food companies have switched to corn flour, rice flour, or modified food starch. Taco Bell happens to use oats as a thickener.

If anyones up in arms about Taco Bells taco meat, what about Jack in the Box's "mystery" taco meat? lol :o It actually does have wheat however.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I meant to post this in hopes of helping those that are new, or somewhat new, to this road of figuring out what and how we are able to eat. It wasn't always an easy road for me to understand in the beginning....a little over 4 yrs ago. I had many "duh!" moments and "what the heck??????" moments. I think those of us that are used to cooking can figure out much of these things but MANY or MOST younger people AREN'T taught cooking as much, so they don't understand what should or shouldn't be in the ingredients of dishes that they may be ordering out. I learned SO MUCH from this site (and still do) when I started figuring out what my problems were and I just wanted to help warn anyone that may not know already to be aware.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HOWEVER, those fillings in the beef are in fact part of the taste of a Taco Bell taco and there are people who absolutely love that taste (I wasn't one).

:ph34r: I was :ph34r:

I did know that it's off limits though.

Interesting reading on that website as a whole not just the taco bell stuff.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jststric,

Not only did you most likely provide some useful information to newbes, you did a great service to me personally starting this thread. Everyone needs to know that Taco Bells taco meat contains oats, that's a given. Whether they decide that's an acceptable risk to take is a personal choice.

But, in the course of making my reply, I looked up the ingredients of Jack in the Box's taco's, and discovered (to my dismay) they contain actual wheat. I tend to be somewhat flexible when it comes to "produced in a facility..." and "shared lines" etc., but I don't knowingly eat products that actually list wheat. I have on occassion eaten Jack in the Box tacos. Thanks to you I've had my last one.

Wait just a minute here. Why am I thanking you for x-ing out one of my favorite things? :angry: Just kidding. You may have saved me from stomach cancer! Keep up the good work.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,354
    • Total Posts
      920,509
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Yes it most certainly could be a false negative, and I would bet you a dozen donuts that it is (gluten free, of course.   )  At the very least you can be sure it is related to gluten.  These gluten rashes take forever to clear up.  I don't know about you, but whenever I start to doubt my gluten intolerance, I just look at my skin, and the old blood stains on my sheets, and I am reassured that it's not all in my head, and I need to avoid gluten as if it were a bucket of battery acid.
    • Hello, My fiance and I are going to Singapore for our honeymoon next year and I was wondering if anyone knew any cafes/restaurants etc that have gluten-free dishes? We previously went two years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much that we definitely wanted to go back our our honeymoon. Catch is I got diagnosed as being gluten intolerant a few months ago, negative for Coeliac though. If I eat gluten I have bad nausea, bloating, diarrhea etc. Not pretty for a honeymoon :-) I am more than happy to eat fruit at breakfast and make do with steamed rice at dinner etc but if anyone has any ideas on anywhere I can safely eat that would be much appreciated. I don't care how much it costs! Also is it possible for me to bring packaged gluten-free food into Singapore from Australia? I am not sure on the rules. Thank you!!
    • Went in and talked to the manager of our pm and asked about the gluten free pizza, and he told me he can't guarantee its 100% gluten free because of the flour in the air from the other crusts being made.  I value the honesty.   The other employee also mentioned changing gloves.   I was thinking wow great, until I walked out and got to thinking about cross contamination from everyone grabbing the toppings out of the same bins and spreading the sauce with the same utensils.    My son was just diagnosed this week so we are new to the whole lifestyle.   So any help or info is greatly appreciated.    Thanks  
    • Before i was diagnosed 2 years ago i had a severe chronic itchy scalp.  It would develop minor pimple like blisters then turn in to sores from the intense scratching.  At the time the dr i saw did a punch biopsy on the original sore, it came back with a florescent pattern and micro abcessing.  i saw a dermatologist who said it was a staph infection (wasn't checking for dh) sent me home with cream and a steroid lotion, didnt work. Shortly after i was diagnosed with celiac and went back to the dermatologist.  He did a punch biopsy BUT he took it from the top of my butt cheek saying that was the most common spot for dh to manifest.  My results were negative.   my question is...   Can this be a false negative due to the punch biopsy not being taken from skin adjacent to the lesions? since being gluten free the intensity has subsided but is still there.
    • Hi Morna.  I will have to add Tom and Chee's to my list.  I have found so many new restaurants on this forum.  My family's birthday season is coming up (I swear, everyone was born between September-December), so I am going to have to check out the bakery on Campbell Station.  Sneak in some gluten-free cake and goodies and see if anyone notices.  I miss cake.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,422
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Celiacinthesea
    Joined