Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Citric Acid Gluten Free?


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 possiblyglutensensitive

 
possiblyglutensensitive

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts
 

Posted 27 January 2011 - 12:42 PM

Is citric acid gluten free?

I heard that in the US always, but anyone know in Canada??

I just bought a can of artichoke hearts and there is citric acid in it.

thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 shopgirl

 
shopgirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 301 posts
 

Posted 27 January 2011 - 12:53 PM

Citric acid comes from citrus. It's gluten-free.

Wow. Shows what I know. I always thought citric acid came from citrus fruit.

Edited by shopgirl, 27 January 2011 - 03:17 PM.

  • 0
"My experience has been that there is, surprisingly, always hope." - Eleven

Positive blood test & endoscopy / Gluten-free 10-07-10 / Dairy-free / Soy-free

#3 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 27 January 2011 - 02:43 PM

From the Canadian Celiac Association's Pocket Dictionary:

CITRIC ACID ... ALLOWED
An organic acid obtained through yeast or bacterial fermentation of glucose/dextrose derived from corn, beet sugar, molasses and rarely wheat. The manufacturing process renders citric acid gluten-free regardless of the source.

  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#4 cassP

 
cassP

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,655 posts
 

Posted 27 January 2011 - 08:15 PM

it really would be ****ing nice if we could have a food/medicine/gum product without a CORN BYPRODUCT <_<
  • 2
1986- Elevated Speckled ANA/no Lupus.negative Sjorgens
2008- AntiGliadin IGA/IGg~ Negative,TTG IGA/IGg~ Weak Positive, Endomysial Antibody~ Positive, IGA Deficient.
no biopsy (insurance denied)
6/2010- Enterolab Gene Test:
HLA-DQB1 Allele 1 0302
HLA-DQB1 Allele 2 0302
HLADQ 3,3 (subtype 8,8)
7/2010- 100% Gluten Free
8/2010- DH
10/2010-Hypothyroid dx-> 12/2010 Hashimoto's dx + 1/11- Graves dx :(

#5 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 27 January 2011 - 08:30 PM

There are some ingredients that are processed to the point that any protein content from the original source is below 5 parts per million. In turn, these ingredients form a small percentage of the total content in the finished product. As a content there, we are talking parts per billion. Rather than worry about this, I worry about being killed in a traffic accident. It is at least a thousand times more likely to harm me.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#6 possiblyglutensensitive

 
possiblyglutensensitive

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts
 

Posted 28 January 2011 - 03:50 AM

There are some ingredients that are processed to the point that any protein content from the original source is below 5 parts per million. In turn, these ingredients form a small percentage of the total content in the finished product. As a content there, we are talking parts per billion. Rather than worry about this, I worry about being killed in a traffic accident. It is at least a thousand times more likely to harm me.


good POV.

are you saying that it is the protein in corn that would make someone with a corn intolerance unwell?

thanks for the info on citric acid. I looked on the net but couldn't find any info on citric acid and gluten.
  • 0

#7 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 28 January 2011 - 07:36 AM

Food intolerances are most commonly to proteins. There are other things in corn that you can be intolerant to, such as fructose, but fructose is present in much more than just corn. Zein, the protein in corn, is found only in corn and other forms of maize.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: