This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Sensitivity Threshold

Sandy1003

Sandy1003 Rookie

Hi there,

I'm new to this, and only really have an unofficial diagnosis. As I'm a student and don't have insurance, I couldn't afford testing or the dreaded "pre-existing condition" on my record. However, my doctor felt confident that all of the problems I've been having for over 10 years were likely related to a gluten intollerance and recommended that I go on a gluten free diet. She told me that the diagnosis wouldn't really do anything for me since the treatment was the same, with or without the diagnosis.

I've been gluten free for about 6 weeks now. Before I went on the diet, I ate bread, pasta, and other gluten-containing items regularly. My symptoms included: constant intestinal cramps, going to the bathroom about 5-6 times a day, and itchy, watery blisters on my hands and ankles (which had been previously diagnosed as eczema dyshydrosis). Within 2 days of starting the diet, my body started acting normal. No pain, no running to the bathroom, and even my eczema went away (I haven't had clear hands in almost 10 years, so this was particularly amazing.)