Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Sensitivity Threshold

6 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I'm new to this, and only really have an unofficial diagnosis. As I'm a student and don't have insurance, I couldn't afford testing or the dreaded "pre-existing condition" on my record. However, my doctor felt confident that all of the problems I've been having for over 10 years were likely related to a gluten intollerance and recommended that I go on a gluten free diet. She told me that the diagnosis wouldn't really do anything for me since the treatment was the same, with or without the diagnosis.

I've been gluten free for about 6 weeks now. Before I went on the diet, I ate bread, pasta, and other gluten-containing items regularly. My symptoms included: constant intestinal cramps, going to the bathroom about 5-6 times a day, and itchy, watery blisters on my hands and ankles (which had been previously diagnosed as eczema dyshydrosis). Within 2 days of starting the diet, my body started acting normal. No pain, no running to the bathroom, and even my eczema went away (I haven't had clear hands in almost 10 years, so this was particularly amazing.)