22 replies to this topic

#1 anewlife

anewlife

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 01:04 PM

I am a newbie, gluten-free for a month, and have had continued problems with stomach pain and upset as well as fatique. I have been eliminating other things from my diet, dairy, soy, but have continued to not feel well. This morning I read a blog in which a woman talked about using a separate toaster for her gluten-free bread! Is this important? I have been toasting my gluten-free bread in the same toaster as my family's non gluten-free bread and thought nothing of it. Is it possible that the exposure to their crumbs is upsetting my system? Hopefully awaiting your replies........... :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 shopgirl

shopgirl

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 301 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 01:15 PM

It's absolutely important and, yes, it could cause symptoms. Also watch out for sharing things like butter, peanut butter, jellies, and mayo.
"My experience has been that there is, surprisingly, always hope." - Eleven

Positive blood test & endoscopy / Gluten-free 10-07-10 / Dairy-free / Soy-free

#3 anewlife

anewlife

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 01:34 PM

It's absolutely important and, yes, it could cause symptoms. Also watch out for sharing things like butter, peanut butter, jellies, and mayo.

Thanks! I have been so frustrated...even started to eliminate bread all together and it was the toaster! Is there anything else I may be overlooking. What about cutting bread for my family or making my kids sandwiches on non gluten-free bread. Could that affect me?

#4 ravenwoodglass

ravenwoodglass

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,681 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 02:00 PM