This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Glutened At Chili's?

NancyL

NancyL Explorer

First off, I'm still really new at this but have been having amazing results in how I feel. Yesterday I met my Mom for dinner at Chili's as I'd heard they have a gluten free menu. Their gluten free menu had "Monterey Chicken" on it so that sounded good and I ordered it. I didn't have much faith in my server especially when he asked if I wanted gravy on my mashed potatoes. Ummmm. no dude. I probably allowed myself to order incorrectly as I didn't see why I couldn't have the mashed potatoes without gravy (like the menu suggested) and the side of fresh veggies.

I was halfway through my meal and all of a sudden I broke out into a cold sweat and felt nauseous. I stopped eating. On the drive home I had severe stomach cramping that I felt certain I was going to throw up and a sensation of having a spiky rock in my stomach. I made it home but the cramping and nausea lasted for about 2 hours. I never did get sick and feel fine today. This is the first time since (recently) going gluten free that I've had the stomach pains.

Is this what being "glutened" feels like? Did I order something wrong?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master