#1 K8Hanna

K8Hanna

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 February 2011 - 05:45 PM

Hi everyone,
I am new to this whole Celiac thing... I tested positive for with the bloodtest and had an endoscopy done last week, which I am still waiting on the biopsy results, but the dr strongly suspects Celiac because of the way my small intestines looked.

I have seen a lot of stuff talking about weight loss and Celiac but very little about weight gain. I am 24 years old and until I was 18 years old I was a size zero but once I hit 19 I gained around 70 lbs and now am a size 15. And no matter what I do I can't seem to shed the weight. I have not started a gluten free diet yet, because I haven't gotten the biopsy results back yet and I am having a hard time letting go of all the foods I love. But I work out 6 days a week and I diet, eating a small breakfast, salad for lunch, and a sensible dinner. It just seems like there is nothing I can do to lose this weight and I was wondering if there is anyone out there experiencing the same thing?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 mushroom

mushroom

Mushroom

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts

Posted 28 February 2011 - 05:53 PM

Hello, and welcome.

Good news for you - there are just as many overweight celiacs who can't lose as there are skinny celiacs who can't gain. Getting rid of the gluten usually allows your metabolism to adjust and get back to your normal weight over time.

Now that you have had all your testing (positive) there is no reason not to start the gluten free diet immediately and start healing :)
Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973
Lactose free 1990
(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's