Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Dairy Queen Canada
0

4 posts in this topic

My family's in the DQ business and, as its such a big part of my life, I was pretty angry to find such a brief gluten-free list of food on www.dairyqueen.com ...nevermind the fact that the Canadian website had no list whatsoever! Plain sundaes are NO fun!

So...I emailed DQ Canada complaining a bit and here is the letter I received:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Tasha:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Dairy Queen Canada Inc. Your patronage is very important to us.

I want to clarify that the website that you obtained the Gluten-Free Products from is actually the DQ US website. At this time, DQ Canada does not have a Special Dietary Needs website and you are automatically connected to the DQ US website. The only exception is that Canada does not supply all of the products listed. The products that Canada does not supply are as follows: Lemon Freez'r; Cherry-Lime Freez'r; DQ Vanilla Fudge Bar; DQ Raspberry Vanilla Bar; Cherry, Grape, and Lemon Lime StarKiss Bars.

Regrettably, we do not have a formal list of products that do not contain gluten, however, this is to confirm that the following products are gluten-free:

DQ Vanilla and Chocolate Soft Serve

Arctic Rush - all flavours (formerly Misty Slush)

Cappuccino MooLatte (without whipped topping)

(Please note that this does not include Vanilla, Mocha, or Caramel MooLattes)

DQ Vanilla Orange Bar

DQ Fudge Bar

Additionally, the following toppings are gluten-free:

chocolate flavoured hot fudge

chocolate flavoured cold fudge

chocolate flavoured topping

butterscotch fudge

cherry

blueberry

red raspberry

caramel fudge

cocoa fudge

marshmallow

It is important to note that the information provided to you is based on Dairy Queen approved products only.? Please be sure to confirm this prior to making or ordering any item.

Dairy Queen cakes can be made gluten-free. The layer of chocolate cookie crunch can be omitted when making the cake. This is totally at the discretion of the independent franchisee owner. The general rule to order a special order cake is 48 hours but again it is up to the independent franchisee owner as to their requirements.

I would like to suggest that every Dairy Queen restaurant has an ingredient Listings Binder, that contains the ingredient listings, for all of the approved products used in the Dairy Queen system and that it is available for you to review. Also, you can review the label from any of the products used to make a Dairy Queen item.

As well, prior to making or ordering any item, please make the staff aware of your allergy. Dairy Queen restaurants are very busy and cross-contamination may occur between ingredients. Therefore, 100% confidence level cannot be guaranteed.

Dairy Queen Canada Inc. enjoys hearing from our customers.? Please feel free to contact us again at anytime if you should require any further information or should have any additional questions.

Regards,

Marlene Brennen

Customer Service Manager

Dairy Queen Canada Inc.

Orange Julius Canada Limited

Tel.: 905/639-1492, ext. 765

Fax: 905/639-5291

Direct Dial:? 905/637-4765

E-mail: marlene.brennen@idq.com

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being such a gung-ho DQ person ;) , I know caramel MooLattes are just Cappuccino MooLattes with caramel sauce added to them. We are told caramel sauce is gluten-free...so there's something missing here. :unsure: I emailed her again a few weeks ago and am still waiting for a response to figure out this discrepancy. I'll let everyone know when I do receive a response.

I also thought I should add some helpful hints about eating at Dairy Queen as I have worked there for many long years. :P

-The cone rack is almost always above the ice cream machine (AHHH!) so ask the workers to be careful and watch that no crumbs get in when dispensing ice cream into your dish.

-Just to make sure, get them to wipe the spigot that dispenses soft serve with a napkin before use.

-If you get a Cappuccino MooLatte, make sure they rinse the blizzard machine out before use and wash whatever they put on top of your MooLatte so that the top of the drink can be mixed properly (sometimes its a plastic circle, sometimes a clear dome like what goes on top of a mcflurry)

-I've seen that some people on here say that a Skor blizzard is okay .... I would agree only if you get the employee to take skor from the box it came shipped in and they put it in your cup with a new spoon [at my dq at least, we don't always use a dedicated spoon for one flavour so be careful]. Make sure they rinse out the blizzard machine. A Skor blizzard is the skor pieces and chocolate flavoured cold fudge mixed in the vanilla soft serve. The email above says that the cold fudge is safe so don't worry about leaving that out. Make sure the person uses the right chocolate (they are all safe EXCEPT chocolate cone dip for obvious reasons), which is often an issue with new employees.

-the above note goes for reese's peanutbutter cup blizzards --as far as I'm concerned...all it is is mushed up pb cups with soft serve...again, be careful with the blizzard machine

-we can have floats too! Its just the Arctic rush slushy stuff or pop with ice cream. Horray! They are very yummy.

Anyway, I hope this helps improve your Dairy Queen experience :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hi Tasha:

Firstly, I want to welcome you to the board!! There are a bunch of really great people here!

Thanks for the info about Dairy Queen. Actually, with four kids, I go there quite alot and never got anything for myself, not knowing if it was gluten free or not. At least, now I have some options when I go with the kids (instead of just drooling!!!) LOL! :lol:

Again, welcome!

Karen

(just outside Toronto, Ontario)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question:

What's wrong with the whipped topping that you can't have it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked the whipped topping ingredients today and it could be hidden in natural and artificial flavour...other than that, I don't see where else it could be.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,448
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined