This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Ideas

xMichellex

xMichellex Rookie

I am pretty new to going gluten free and I am struggling coming up with fast and easy meals. I am limiting myself to whole foods with very few pre-packaged items. I do make my own chicken stock and bread. I am in grad school and I have very little time to make elaborate meals (for two). Most of the time I take my meals with me but I am getting pretty tired of chewing on carrots for dinner while sitting in class. Any ideas or recipes would really be appreciated!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cahill Collaborator

I have no time to cook during the week so on the weekends my crockpot and roaster are going all day

Today I have pork steaks in the crockpot,, turkey breast in the oven,also some sweet potatoes.Also beef for stew simmering on top of the stove,,,,what can I say it is cold and rainy here :P

Tomorrow I will use the homemade stock and make turkey soup, and what ever else I come up with today :lol: ...

Then I make up single serving size meals,in individual containers, and put them in the freezer for a quick and safe meal during the week .I even make my rice up ahead and freeze it in 1 or 2 cup baggies

Mizzo Enthusiast

Definitely invest in a crock pot. Invest in a big one with multiple settings or even better a heavy duty steamer/ rice cooker . my next purchase will be Wolfgang puck's

Just a couple or idea's:

Chicken taco soup goes a long way. Keep soup on thicker side for leftovers, extra's go great with tortilla chip for quick lunch or dinners.