3 replies to this topic

#1 TSA

TSA

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:47 AM

Hello, I'm a newbie from Indiana! I suffered for a year before I was diagnosed with celiac. Its been a stuggle! I'm the only one (at the moment) that has celiac. Being a mother and wife, its difficult to grocery shop and cook for all of us. I am feeling better however other symtoms have surfaced. Not sure what "normal" is anymore! Tammy
Tammy

Celiac since Nov. 2010

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

HO! HO! HO!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,318 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 07:19 AM

Hello, I'm a newbie from Indiana! I suffered for a year before I was diagnosed with celiac. Its been a stuggle! I'm the only one (at the moment) that has celiac. Being a mother and wife, its difficult to grocery shop and cook for all of us. I am feeling better however other symtoms have surfaced. Not sure what "normal" is anymore! Tammy

HI Tammy!

I don't know how old your kids are but mine are teens so we don't always eat together. I'm the only gluten-free one at our house. When we do eat together & I am fixing all the food, its usually gluten-free. Last night we had BBQ chicken, corn & salad or carrot sticks. When we do pasta together, I get a helper to keep the gluten-free & the regular pasta separate. One is responsible for the gluteny pasta. Its too easy to get confused & use the spoon from one into the other. When that isn't possible, we all eat the gluten-free pasta and no one cares.

For J's 18th birthday/superbowl party, he wanted me to make gluten-free chocolate cupcakes because they are better than alot of other ones.

I find that teen boys & a hub who isn't picky don't care if there is gluten in it or not. My boys say the main criteria is that Imake it so they don't have to cook.

santa-dance.gif