5 replies to this topic

#1 onehappylady

onehappylady

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 07:54 PM

I have been eating gluten-free for about six months, but continue to have stomach issues.I also have wheat, barley and oat allergies- in addition to a diagnosis of IBS. Now that I am gluten-free, what additional diet suggestions would you have for me in controlling my IBS symptoms. (I had thought my stomach pain, cramping was simply from my gluten-filled diet, but I'm still not better.) Anyone else with IBS?

Thanks!

Brittney

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Evangeline

Evangeline

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 06:48 AM

My friend has had IBS for over 10 years. It was -really- bad. I suggested they go on a gluten-free diet which they did, but when they REALLY noticed an 80% improvement was when they stopped eating all corn and soy. Even traces of corn and soy affect them. They also cannot eat any legumes (including peanuts (peanuts are legumes, not nuts). This diet improved their overall health although they can tell there must be one another food that occasionally causes them digestive issues.

Keep a food diary. Eat VERY SIMPLE and try to find trends within your diet and your body's reaction.

#3 mushroom

mushroom

Mushroom

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 01:30 PM

You may be having issues with lactose because gluten destroys the area of the small intestine where lactase (which digests it) is made. Most celiacs are intolerant of lactose until they heal. While I know you are not diagnosed celiac you may still have these problems.
Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"