Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac Runner In Training For Marathon

8 posts in this topic

I am a runner, and run many races from 5ks to marathons. It has been a constant uphill battle since I cannot train with your average running 'groups' (ideal) bc of my health problems and schedule conflicts. For one, I am a fulltime student, mother, wife and stay busy so my schedule is constantly changing. I run when I CAN! That said, my body and my gut is always changing too! I can never count on it to just be NORMAL.

Despite living gluten free and having now turned my home into a completely gluten free home (I'm the only celiac here)... I still have issues. Seems to happen a lot when I run too. That adrenaline rush tends to send my gut into a frenzy.

Don't get me wrong; I LOVE RUNNING!

But what. is. going. on!!!!!!!!!

I need to figure this out especially for my longer runs.

Ads by Google:

Sometimes some self deprecating humor can help... so here goes.

Before I was diagnosed with Celiac disease, I had the same issues with running. Thankfully, we get somewhat of a notice when the gut issues are about to hit or the "dam is about to give" but it usually is only about 15-30 seconds.

So, I used to run on the path on the beach in California. I know that sounds like the idea situation for running, just due to the fact that you're next to the ocean.

But, I had a method to my madness! The outdoor restrooms and changing rooms were only about 1/8 of a mile from each other. Should I have an "issue".... and did I EVER... I would dodge into the bathroom for a quick stop. Of course, it got better over the years.

I know this isn't a solution. But, at least it will make your feel like you're not the only one out there with this embarrassing issue.