This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Onions...

anabananakins

anabananakins Explorer

I've been gluten free since last June, and until recently the bloating was signifcantly improved. However, over the last few months I've been having more digestive issues, and I'm feeling constantly bloated. During this time I've been trying to eat a lot more veges in an effort to lose weight. However, I'm a lazy cook and not terribly fond of veges, and "eating veges" means "adding stir fried onion to dinner" (I include others, but onion is a significant part of my vege intake). It's also been summer time and I've been eating nectarines and plums like the world is about to end.

Yesterday I stumbled upon info about FODMAPs and I was chagrined to read that onion was listed as a major problem. Nectarines and plums were also listed. Oops.

Has anyone else noticed onion as a problem in their diet? I was surprised to see it on the list - the sweet fruits made more sense to me.

I've found some resources and I'm going to experiment by cutting out the major offenders. It'll be a good way to force myself to eat other veges.

But if I want to have the hydrogen test (though I don't know where to do that in Sydney, it seems like Melbourne is where it's all happening), will going light on these foods now mean I can't be tested?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor