Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

gluten-free Chewing Gum/bubble Gum?


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 keithceliac2010

 
keithceliac2010

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2011 - 05:57 AM

Any body have experience with chewing gum/bubble gum. Please let me know which ones you have had problems with, and which ones you have found to be gluten free.
Thanks, Keith
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 GFreeMO

 
GFreeMO

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2011 - 06:21 AM

Trident is gluten free. Check under the FAQ on their website. It will tell you that all Trident is gluten free.
  • 0

#3 Kim27

 
Kim27

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2011 - 08:32 AM

I haven't found any chewing gum with gluten. I don't know about bubble gum.
  • 0
Thanks!!!


---------------------------------------------------
Kim

Newly diagnosed Celiac trying to learn the ropes

Very Positive tTG 3/10
Positive EGD/Biopsy 4/10

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2011 - 10:14 AM

Don't know of any gums that do have gluten.

richard
  • 0

#5 ArtG

 
ArtG

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 06 July 2011 - 04:43 PM

This is my first post. I was diagnosed June 16. 2011 with Celiac. Had a follow-up appointment today with the gastroenterologist who say me chewing gum. He said I should not chew gum, it had gluten, and then he said, or lick envelopes. Well, how am I to know these things. I went on a gluten free diet June 17 to the best of my ability. I have checked this site often in my research.

I contacted Wrigley about the gum, I like the 5 gum. This was their reply, quite fast. But frankly, I am more than confused at this point.... 20 parts per million? I asked the doc about Costco Frozen vegetables the package states it is packaged with other products that may include soy, wheat, dairy etc, Doc suggested I find another product.

Dear Mr.,

Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.

The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]

All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.
Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:

• Altoids® Chocolate Dipped Mints (made on equipment that also processes wheat which is stated in the “Allergy Information” line)
• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)
• Hubba Bubba® Gummi Tape Candy (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)
• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.


Sincerely,


Melissa Kepple
Consumer Care Representative

8000165611
  • 0

#6 Gemini

 
Gemini

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,160 posts
 

Posted 07 July 2011 - 11:51 AM

Like some others have stated, I haven't found any gum which does contain gluten, although I stick with the Orbit brand. Their bubble gum is pretty good and it's sugar free also.

The envelope thing is a Celiac myth which will not die. There is no gluten in envelope gum. Your doctor is not a Celiac? They shouldn't be giving out advice on what to eat or what is safe for contact with the mouth. They are almost always wrong.

Some people (like myself) are extremely sensitive Celiacs who react to products made on shared lines with other products containing wheat, barley or rye.
Some others can eat from shared lines with no problems. You will have to figure this all out as you heal. You may be more comfortable just omitting these
from the very beginning because you may discover that as you heal, you could become more sensitive to gluten. Don't let this all freak you out as there are many foods that we can eat and many brands which accommodate Celiacs and you will learn this as time goes on. The 20ppm threshold is the number that many companies test to so they can market their product for the Celiac community and call it gluten free. US physicians believe that this is the threshold that Celiacs can consume without causing damage to the small intestine. They have done studies and research to back this up but I am not an expert on this myself. Testing can can only go as low as 5ppm but if everyone were held to this standard, it would be extremely costly and I am not so sure it is necessary. I will eat something labeled gluten free made on dedicated lines and I don't worry about it past that. I have recovered extremely well doing it this way so I stick to it.

There is a big learning curve to this so don't despair...you will get the hang of it.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: