This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

My First Time Here - Gluten Intolerance And Low Iron

AussieAmanda

AussieAmanda Rookie

Hello all,

This is my first time posting, I wasn't sure where to post as I am gluten intolerant and don't think I have celiacs as such. I have a few questions so firstly let me share my little journey.

The whole of the last year has been extremely stressful, my psychologist has referred to it as chronic stress and has explained how our bodies manifest physical symptoms when we are in this situation. The most stressful time was last August to November. In August, right when the stress was starting to increase my daughter has bad gastro. I didn't get it as such but I noticed that I started getting bad pains in my abdomen and for the first time I experienced real bloating. After a month of this my Dr said I was 'experiencing IBS' and just said to eat a bland diet. A friend suggested going gluten free so I did. The change was instant, the day I went off gluten I felt better.

I went back to my Dr and told her this after I'd been gluten free about two or three weeks and she did a blood test for Celiacs Disease. I never got the call back so it was negative. I've been since told that I would have needed to go onto gluten again for a few days for the test to be properly done but my Dr never mentioned this.

As time has gone on I've been 'mostly' gluten free. No cakes, biscuits (I'm an Aussie so that would be cookies), pasta or bread that wasn't gluten free. I've still had some sauces which have a wheat base but didn't notice that they effected me a lot.