arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Im New To This Whole Gluten-Free Thing. Any Advice?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 SusieQ

SusieQ

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 18 April 2011 - 05:02 PM

im 13 and i recently found out that i have celiac disease 2 weeks ago. so i have tried my best to not eat it but i do by acciedent a few times. yesterday i had one bite of gluten and i think im getting a lot more sensitive to it since i haven't had it at all, for a week since i ate the gluten. is this possible? and i get joint pain when i have gluten, but is it possible for my joints to start hurting only an hour after accidentally eating gluten? thats what happened to me yesterday and my joints still hurt today.
:(
I have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease since April 2011.
~ Susie ~ :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 keithceliac2010

keithceliac2010

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 19 April 2011 - 05:32 AM

Welcome SusieQ. The same thing happens to me within an hour or 2 after I accidentally consume gluten(achy joints, grumpy mood, brain fog, stomach issues)-Sometimes the side effects can last a few days from my personal experience but they do eventually go away and I get back to normal again. I am glad to see someone learning about gluten intolerance at such a young age. I have had symptoms of gluten intolerance/celiac disease since I was your age-I only wish that I would have known back then about this disease. Consider yourself one of the lucky ones who does not have to live with it for 30 or 40 years before we got diagnosed. Good luck and watch out for those accidental glutenings.

#3 domesticactivist

domesticactivist

Kitchen Liberator

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 952 posts

Posted 19 April 2011 - 10:07 AM