Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Snickers Gluten-free?


  • Please log in to reply

14 replies to this topic

#1 PrincessLEah

 
PrincessLEah

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 01:28 PM

I really want one but I want to make sure if they are or not
  • 0
Diagnosed in 2002 and now i'm 14 almost 15.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 PrincessLEah

 
PrincessLEah

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 01:34 PM

I really want one but I want to make sure if they are or not

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

someone said they were eating them but I don't know if they are actually gluten-free
  • 0
Diagnosed in 2002 and now i'm 14 almost 15.

#3 SueC

 
SueC

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 160 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 02:31 PM

Go ahead and enjoy!!! Snickers was one of the items my GI doc told me I could have!!!!! However those snickers potables are not gluten-free.

Sue
  • 0
Sue

Diagnosed April 2005 via bloodwork and endoscopy

4 year old daughter diagnosed March 2006 via bloodwork and endoscopy
She was completely asymptomatic

4 year old also diagnosed with Graves disease Sept 2006

#4 Jnkmnky

 
Jnkmnky

    Bloom where you are planted.

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,350 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 02:53 PM

Every size change in a snickers or any other food matters. Check the ingredients for minis, bite sized, regular, jumbo and popables. Each is different. Some contain gluten, some do not. This rule applies for all foods.
  • 0
I believe in God.

#5 Carriefaith

 
Carriefaith

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,861 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 03:05 PM

I think the smaller sizes, like the bite size snickers have gluten. So don't eat those.
  • 0
Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004
Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003
Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

#6 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 03:24 PM

I was told that all Snickers except the poppables are gluten free
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#7 Carriefaith

 
Carriefaith

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,861 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 03:38 PM

ok, I guess it was the popables I meant. I knew it was something different :)

The snickers cruncher and snickers marathons also have gluten in them.
http://www.snickers.com/nutrition.asp
  • 0
Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004
Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003
Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

#8 SueC

 
SueC

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 160 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 03:53 PM

the popables have wheat listed in the ingredients but I think the mini's are ok... no wheat listed on those.
Sue
  • 0
Sue

Diagnosed April 2005 via bloodwork and endoscopy

4 year old daughter diagnosed March 2006 via bloodwork and endoscopy
She was completely asymptomatic

4 year old also diagnosed with Graves disease Sept 2006

#9 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 05:53 PM

Yes...all gluten-free except poppables...I had 2 bars today :)
  • 0

#10 Jnkmnky

 
Jnkmnky

    Bloom where you are planted.

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,350 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2005 - 08:37 PM

I really thought the minis were gluten full....Must have been a mini milky way?
  • 0
I believe in God.

#11 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2005 - 03:36 AM

Regular Milky Ways contain wheat--so, as you suggested, of course, the minis also contain gluten (Milky Way Midnight is gluten-free). The Poppables are a dangerous area, so I just avoid them. You have to be...more careful with the minis. There was a major problem a few months ago with those variety packages of mini candies...malt was used in the glue for the wrappers and nobody knew they weren't gluten-free, because one would assume there was malt in some of the non-gluten-free candies, but that the others didn't contain malt. Big thing...so don't buy those variety packs. Stick with a bag of Snickers or a bag of Butterfingers, etc.
  • 0

#12 VydorScope

 
VydorScope

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,364 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2005 - 03:40 AM

The Poppables are a dangerous area, so I just avoid them.


I have never seen any gluten-free popables. :(
  • 0

- Vincent -


#13 PreOptMegs

 
PreOptMegs

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2005 - 09:03 AM

What about 3-musketeers bar?
  • 0
I LOVE JESUS!

#14 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2005 - 03:22 PM

They are gluten free too :D
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#15 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2005 - 05:13 PM

I have never seen any gluten-free popables. :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yes, I don't think any are gluten-free--and if they are, I don't care enough to find out...I know which bars are gluten-free and those are the most accessible forms of candy, so that's all that matters to me :P

What about 3-musketeers bar?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yes.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: