#1 Joni63

Joni63

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 693 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 03:36 PM

Hi everyone!

I am so happy I completed my first Sprint Triathlon this past Sunday! I was sick with no voice and did it just for the experience. It was AWESOME! I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to train in swimming, running and biking. It is the greatest feeling to have finished it. Keep in mind I have no background in any of those sports...except bike riding as a child and started swimming 2 years ago and running a few years ago.

If you have the desire - You can do it!
Joni

Dx'd with Celiac Disease 8/01/07

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Marilyn R

Marilyn R

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 04:27 PM

Way to go, Joni! Hooray! That's an incredible accomplishment!
Positive improvement from elimination diet. Mother dx'd by Mayo Clinic in late 1980s. Negative blood tests and Upper & Lower GI biopsy. Parathyroidectomy 12/09. Recurring high calcium level 4/10. Gluten-free 4/10. Soy & Dairy Free 6/10. Corn free 7/10. Grain free except rice 8/10. Legume free 6/11. Fighting the battle of the battle within myself, and I'm going to win!

As of 2/12, tolerating dairy, corn, legumes and some soy, but I limit soy to tamari sauce or modest soy additives. Won't ever try quinoa again!

Discoid Lupus from skin biopsy 2011, discovered 2/12 when picking up medical records. Systemic Lupus Dx 6/12. Shingles 10/12.

#3 lizard00

lizard00

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,528 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 05:56 PM

That's awesome!!! I'm jealous... I just want to start running again. :ph34r:
Be yourself, everyone else is taken.
Oscar Wilde

Gluten free November 2007
IgA Deficient, Neg Bloodwork, Double DQ2 Positive
Dietary and Genetic Diagnosis June 2, 2008
Soy free Jan 09

#4 tictax707

tictax707

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts