Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kraft Ranch Salad Dressing
0

12 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if this is gluten free. I know that they don't hide gluten, but I'm still confused about that because they do use the terms modified food starch and natural flavors. Here are the ingredients. Remember this is Kraft Ranch.

water, soybean oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, egg yolks, whey, modified food starch, garlic juice, natural buttermilk flavor (buttermilk, maltodextrin, natural flavor, sald, cultured cream, modified food starch, lactive acid, citric acid, karaya gum) Monosodium Glutamate, xanthum gum, phosphoric acid, with sorbic acid and calcium disodium edta as preservatives, polysorbate 60, lactic acid, artifical color, spice, dried parsley, lemon juice concentrate, natural flavor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I am looking at my list now and Kraft Rancher's Choice, Creamy Cucumber Ranch, 3 Cheese Ranch, Peppercorn Ranch, Ranch with Bacon and Ultra Low Fat Ranch are gluten free. From the list that I have, it's the Caesar's that you have to stay away from and also the Catalina with Bacon.

Karen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it is gluten free. If there is no wheat,rye,barley,oats specifically on the label then it is fine. Those questionable ingredients that we usually have to hunt down are not a problem with Kraft because they won't hide anything under those pesky ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can understand being nervous but it really is that simple -- if it doesn't say wheat, rye or barley in the ingredients, it's gluten-free even if it does have MFS, natural flavor or whatever.

richard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks guys! I'm glad to finally have a gluten free ranch dressing. I need something to dip my broccolli in! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Newman's Own dressings are all gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Newman's Own dressings are all gluten-free

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

When I went gluten-free I got a ranch dressing that said gluten-free right on the bottle and then when I tried it it tasted like tartar sauce. Gross! The Newman's Own ones look that way too. It's like it has big chunks in it and it's an odd color. So, I didn't want to try those ones. That's just me though. I'm a ranch snob! I used to eat only Hidden Valley. I don't know for sure if theirs is gluten-free. I haven't researched it that much. I should call the company.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if this is gluten free. I know that they don't hide gluten, but I'm still confused about that because they do use the terms modified food starch and natural flavors. Here are the ingredients. Remember this is Kraft Ranch.

water, soybean oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, egg yolks, whey, modified food starch, garlic juice, natural buttermilk flavor (buttermilk, maltodextrin, natural flavor, sald, cultured cream, modified food starch, lactive acid, citric acid, karaya gum) Monosodium Glutamate, xanthum gum, phosphoric acid, with sorbic acid and calcium disodium edta as preservatives, polysorbate 60, lactic acid, artifical color, spice, dried parsley, lemon juice concentrate, natural flavor.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Karen,

I like the Kraft Catalina, lite. That's ok isn't it?

Also, do you know of any substitute for catsup? I am a fan of Heinz catsup on my scrambled eggs.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BabySnooks-Just check the label on Kraft..they will say wheat,rye,barley,oats if it has any.There will not be anything hidden in the sometimes questionable ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

Yep, on my list Catalina Lite is okay. Also, Heinz ketchup is gluten free, so there is no need to search for a substitute.

Here is a link to the delphi forums list which is quite comprehensive and broken down into convenient categories and is always up to date:

http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/list.a...&cacheTag=x46-0

Have a whole bunch of scrambled eggs tomorrow!!!! LOL!

Karen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a list of gluten containing foods from a celiac website and thay have stated to stay away from any foods that contain modified food starch, because it can contain a gluten binding agent in the process.

I would see how you feel after you eat a little bit of it.

The list also says to not eat caramel coloring for the same reason. But other websites say that it is fine. I find when I drink certain root beers with the caramel coloring I feel sick. So I think that you really have to listen to your body. As a safety measure I stay away from modified food starch.

Good Luck!

Does anyone know if this is gluten free. I know that they don't hide gluten, but I'm still confused about that because they do use the terms modified food starch and natural flavors. Here are the ingredients. Remember this is Kraft Ranch.

water, soybean oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, egg yolks, whey, modified food starch, garlic juice, natural buttermilk flavor (buttermilk, maltodextrin, natural flavor, sald, cultured cream, modified food starch, lactive acid, citric acid, karaya gum) Monosodium Glutamate, xanthum gum, phosphoric acid, with sorbic acid and calcium disodium edta as preservatives, polysorbate 60, lactic acid, artifical color, spice, dried parsley, lemon juice concentrate, natural flavor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please note that this topic is almost five years old, so some of the information may be out of date. Kraft will always label gluten clearly, so you can just read the label.

Caramel color is gluten-free. Modified food starch, if from wheat, must be so labeled in the US. It is almost invariably corn--in almost ten years on the diet I have never found modified food starch that wasn't gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.