2 replies to this topic

#1 Sadasar

Sadasar

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 08:56 AM

Ok this is my first post as I'm new to celiac. I'm trying to find a good doctor around the Lakeland Florida area. I don't mind driving a little bit as my health is more important than convenience. My primary care doctor is sort of an idiot for lack of better words and wouldn't do any tests when I told him the symptoms I was having, such as constant diarea, sore joints, constant weakness and weird blood sugar readings. My mother in law is a RN in Texas and she was actually the one that said it sounds like it could be celiac disease after the glucose tests came back negative for diabetes. Any help anyone can provide is greatly appreciated.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Marilyn R

Marilyn R

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,486 posts

Posted 25 April 2011 - 06:38 PM

Ok this is my first post as I'm new to celiac. I'm trying to find a good doctor around the Lakeland Florida area. I don't mind driving a little bit as my health is more important than convenience. My primary care doctor is sort of an idiot for lack of better words and wouldn't do any tests when I told him the symptoms I was having, such as constant diarea, sore joints, constant weakness and weird blood sugar readings. My mother in law is a RN in Texas and she was actually the one that said it sounds like it could be celiac disease after the glucose tests came back negative for diabetes. Any help anyone can provide is greatly appreciated.

Cleveland Clinic or Mayo Clinic are two I'd suggest. I think Cleveland Clinic is closer to you...the closest Mayo Clinic is in Jacksonville, about four hour's drive time, possibly more. Good luck!