Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Yellowtail Savignon Blanc Has Gluten?
0

31 posts in this topic

So conversation in another thread about wine led me to do some poking around the web, and I found that the Yellowtail website lists if a wine is "vegan" or "gluten free". And the savignon blanc is *not* listed as gluten free!ohmy.gif One more thing to worry about.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

So conversation in another thread about wine led me to do some poking around the web, and I found that the Yellowtail website lists if a wine is "vegan" or "gluten free". And the savignon blanc is *not* listed as gluten free!ohmy.gif One more thing to worry about.

Is this the same wine?

http://www.yellowtailwine.com/faqs/

Under wine/nutrition, they say that their wines ARE gluten free....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this the same wine?

http://www.yellowtailwine.com/faqs/

Under wine/nutrition, they say that their wines ARE gluten free....

I can't get into the faq link. Once you enter the site you can click on each wine and see its nutritional info. They all list "gluten free" except the savignon blanc. So on the glass half full side, that seems to be only one that's a concern. No idea why.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't get into the faq link. Once you enter the site you can click on each wine and see its nutritional info. They all list "gluten free" except the savignon blanc. So on the glass half full side, that seems to be only one that's a concern. No idea why.

I would think there is no need to worry. Wine is not subject to gluten. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While wine is naturally gluten-free, some of the refining additives may contain gluten. (Or who knows what for that matter.) My gent pointed out that isinglass is used in clarifying wine, and it's derived from the bladders of fish (sturgeons.) Other additives are derived from eggs, etc. They don't have to list their ingredients, and additives vary, so I'd stick with the stuff that says it's gluten-free, just in case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I would think there is no need to worry. Wine is not subject to gluten. :D

I don't worry about it either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink wine like it's going out of style but I've never had a reaction.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Butterf8, I love the "birddog"!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nooooooooo!!!!!! :) I prefer a blush anyway ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spock, the vast majority of us with celiac who have "experimented" have done so with no reaction whatsoever -- except when we over-experimented.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

don't they use wheat paste as a glue when making the wooden wine barrels??

if so, it stands to reason that trace amounts are in wine.

last time i tried a sulfite free white wine, it made me feel terrible. could be that alchohol is'nt for me.?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spock, the vast majority of us with celiac who have "experimented" have done so with no reaction whatsoever -- except when we over-experimented.

richard

:P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

don't they use wheat paste as a glue when making the wooden wine barrels??

if so, it stands to reason that trace amounts are in wine.

All of us here have heard that tale many times, but nobody has presented a credible source to say that this actually leads to gluten in the wine. If you have one, please post it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Two drinks isn't over-experimenting. People should know that some distilled spirits, even in moderation, aren't safe for people with celiac.

I was just laughing at Richard's post, thinking "ain't that the truth!". No one said you, personally, over indulged.

Most, but not all, Celiacs, have no problem with distilled spirits. They may not work for you. It's good you figured it out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've yet to see valid evidence that would make me not consume wine. Many people don't react well to it, but it doesn't mean its a celiac reaction.

And spock...depending on who you ask and how much you've eaten...two drinks very well could be over-expirimenting :)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have no problem with wine or distilled alcohols. I drink single malt scotch, so no chance of contamination through a cheap blend, and all the wines I've tried have been fine (barring that over-indulgence thing). If you, personally, react to something, then by all means remove it from your diet, but don't assume that everyone has the same response.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Peter, over the years this is one thing I've heard constantly--the gluten-in-wine theory...but then why haven't any ever tested positive for gluten? Tons of celiacs now use the gluten test strips, yet I've never heard of a wine testing positive for gluten. I've spoken to the owners at one of the biggest commercial gluten testing labs about this as well, and he's never seen it either. I also go to wineries regularly, and have seen them heat steaming the inside of new barrels...the water is near boiling, and they use a powerful steam power washer to do this. Do you think they'd want any contamination in their wine? Also, any material in the wine settles for at least a year before they bottle it, and is not used.

I've thought about doing a $500 challenge on Celiac.com for anyone who can find a commercially produced wine that tests positive...what do you think?

Scott

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink a few brands of white wines, and have not had a problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've thought about doing a $500 challenge on Celiac.com for anyone who can find a commercially produced wine that tests positive...what do you think?

Scott

Did you ever find anyone up to the challenge, Scott?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to this article, its not just the flour paste in the barrels that could be a problem. Wheat is used as a clarifying agent in wine. Its not clear whether it can end up in the finished product.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/food-and-wine/wine/ask-a-wine-expert/im-allergic-to-gluten-are-there-any-reds-that-i-can-drink/article2110207/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to this article, its not just the flour paste in the barrels that could be a problem. Wheat is used as a clarifying agent in wine. Its not clear whether it can end up in the finished product.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/food-and-wine/wine/ask-a-wine-expert/im-allergic-to-gluten-are-there-any-reds-that-i-can-drink/article2110207/

It's never been the least bit of concern to me, nor to any of the national celiac foundations/associations or research organizations.

.....just sayin' :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.....just sayin' I agree with Lisa.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And I agree with Lisa and Sylvia. None of the major advocacy groups for celiac disease or gluten intolerance list wine as a concern. Even the notoriously over-cautious Celiac Sprue Association lists wine as safe.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

don't they use wheat paste as a glue when making the wooden wine barrels??

if so, it stands to reason that trace amounts are in wine.

last time i tried a sulfite free white wine, it made me feel terrible. could be that alchohol is'nt for me.?

Recently I was at a resort that hosted a vintner weekend of wine tasting. i spoke with the vintner who explained the wheat paste issue to me. He statement was that the higher quality wines do not use the wheat paste as they properly seal their kegs. It is the lesser quality (under $5) wines that "could" be a concern as they are the ones that would be more likely to use wheat paste to seal the cracks. He statement was "could be". He stated that he had not heard of gluten as being an issue but that he would not rule it out. Higher quality wines would not be an issue. Would anyone like to shared a bottle with me? :P :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,357
    • Total Posts
      920,528
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)  
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
    • I had a biopsy done (2 samples, 1 on a lesion and 1 next to lesions), and also more bloodwork done. All came back negative. However, I only had been eating gluten for 2 weeks prior, and it took a week of gluten for lesions to reappear. I also used a topical steroid off and on (1x a week approximately) for a month or so before testing. The dermatologist told me to stay off gluten though, and said she wants to do more allergy testing (her next open testing appt is in 6 months!!). I know I'm not the DR, but I dont think it's allergies...without a doubt, my skin begins clearing about 2 weeks post gluten-free diet...this is without changing anything else in my lifestyle. And when i had to go back on gluten before my biopsy, it took about a week, but did reappear. Now, about 2 weeks post biopsy and gluten-free, it had begun clearing until i worked outside all day in heat, humidity,  sweat etc and it has definitely irritated all the places that were healing (not new breakouts, just aggravating what was going away!). All that being said, i have a friend who is an MD( who's hobby is to attend conferences on skin conditions!), and she has told me that without a doubt, I have celiac/DH.  I think I just feel like I need test results and paperwork to show for it...especially to show family members who are unsupportive (gross understatement!) of the extreme changes I've had to make!
    • Sorry ! I have never cruised before.  Just wanting to follow your topic.  Good luck! Have a great,  safe vacation.  
    • Hi there, I hope you're all having a good day! I'll be heading on a week-long Carnival cruise shortly and had a few questions: -What is the tipping protocol? I've prepaid gratuities, but feel like the food request will warrant something extra. Should I tip the headwaiter? Hostess? Regular waiter? Chef? Those cooking at, say, the sandwich or pasta bars? If so, how much is appropriate, and should I tip at the beginning of the cruise, the end, or split it up? -It looks like the main dining room will be closed during lunch hours on most days. Any recommendations on safe bets for midday meals? I'll be on the Carnival Sunshine, for what that's worth. Thank you so much for any information you can share!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined