Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Mike's Hard Lemonade


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_marshlakemom_*

Guest_marshlakemom_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:16 PM

I love to have a Mike's Hard Lemonade on a hot day, any concerns I should have????

Deb
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 celiac3270

celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 21 July 2005 - 04:33 PM

I would have no first hand knowledge--7 years too young, lol, but I think I've read somewhere that it's not gluten-free.
  • 0

#3 mytummyhurts

mytummyhurts

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts

Posted 21 July 2005 - 04:43 PM

Can you list the ingredients? That helps us that do not consume the product to help you. :)
  • 0

#4 terri

terri

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 21 July 2005 - 05:32 PM

Here is the reply I received from Mike's Hard Lemonade.

Thank you for taking the time to contact mike's hard lemonade. Mike's products available in the US are lemon clear malt based ( fermented barley beer malt) beverages. In independent lab analysis mike's products do not contain any traces of gluten protein, however, our products are bottled in multiple sites that produce other malt beverages. We cannot guarantee complete absence of gluten contamination from other products run on the same equipment.

Take care, and keep on enjoying the good things in life,
Sincerely,

Deborah Poth
Consumer Relations Coordinator
Mike's Hard Lemonade, Inc.
dpoth@mikeshardlemonade.com

Beats me how it could be a femented barly beer malt and not have gluten unless they distill it. Sounds too risky for me.

Terri
  • 1
Terri
Northern Virginia

gluten-free since March 27, 2004

#5 mytummyhurts

mytummyhurts

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts

Posted 21 July 2005 - 08:23 PM

Yeah, I wouldn't drink it from what they said.
  • 0

#6 jenvan

jenvan

    Lynne took this picture! :)

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,211 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 04:49 AM

yeah, that sounded strange... i am bummed, just cked out bailey's irish cream and trying to see if it is gluten-free. they said basically, probably is, but it might not be. arg! does anywhere here drink it still?
  • 0
~~~~~~~
Jen
Indianapolis, IN

gluten-free since Feb 2005
dairy-free

#7 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 05:28 AM

Bailey's is doing the CYA dance. It's gluten-free. I know a number of people who drink it.

Mike's is made with barley malt -- I wouldn't touch it.

richard
  • 0

#8 jenvan

jenvan

    Lynne took this picture! :)

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,211 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 06:48 AM

sweet on bailey's. i figured it was a cya. i e-mailed to make sure my schnap's is gluten-free too so i can still make my favorite drink-buttery nipples :) !
  • 0
~~~~~~~
Jen
Indianapolis, IN

gluten-free since Feb 2005
dairy-free

#9 swittenauer

swittenauer

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 389 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 03:37 PM

So what can you have, if anything, as far as alcoholic beverages? I would assume it would be wine but what else?
  • 0
July 19, 2005 - My husband Bill was diagnosed, via bloodwork, with Celiac.

August 3, 2005 - Biopsy confirmed Celiac Sprue.

Food Allergies: Chocolate, Shellfish & Gluten

#10 2old4

2old4

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 23 July 2005 - 06:45 PM

Kahlua & Amarula are gluten-free. :D
  • 0
gluten-free since 05/19/05
Positive Bloodwork
Patty from Maine

#11 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 23 July 2005 - 07:00 PM

Because of the distilling process, virtually every liquor is gluten-free.

richard
  • 0

#12 em_nyc_1234

em_nyc_1234

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 08:38 PM

I love to have a Mike's Hard Lemonade on a hot day, any concerns I should have????

Deb


I just had two of them and I felt fine*. I believe they are distilled so it should be safe enough.

*UPDATE: Actually I'm not so sure I felt fine... sometimes it's hard to tell.
  • 0

#13 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 09:47 PM

I just had two of them and I felt fine. I believe they are distilled so it should be safe enough.


the alcohol in one of the ingredients is gluten free due to distillation (if it's not corn derived), but the barley malt is added after the fact, which makes it unsafe.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#14 tiffjake

tiffjake

    Life is good....

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts

Posted 27 August 2007 - 01:22 AM

Mikes is NOT gluten free. It has Barley Malt, and if I didn't think that made it unsafe, then I would just ask my stomach the last time I had one. 1/2 way through it I was running to the bathroom. I didn't even KNOW it was a Malt beverage. So for me, not safe. But I see that there is debate out there....
  • 0
EnteroLab test positive for gluten intolerence and 2 gluten intolerence and celiac genes
DQ2 and DQ3 sub type DQ7 in December 2005
Gluten-free since Enterolab test, December 2, 2005.

Lame Advertisement Test positive for gluten intolerence in Sept 2005.
THEN found out that my fathers mother had nontropical sprue, she passed away at 40 from (stomach) cancer, had holes in her intestines when they caught it. I had no idea....

#15 blueeyedmanda

blueeyedmanda

    York Fair 2009

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts

Posted 27 August 2007 - 04:05 AM

Malt products are not gluten-free. Sorry, I miss hard lemonade too.
  • 0
~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~


Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

Posted Image


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: