Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Mike's Hard Lemonade
0

33 posts in this topic

OK this is new to me. I was always under the impression in Canada it was gluten-free but in the US it was not. Now there is that statement from the company about the processing removing the gluten. This is causing great concern about this product since it is made from malt which is normally a no no.

I guess this will be left to the individual as we all know there are some you partake in distilled hard stuff and there are some that won't.

I still drink vodka and other stuff so I think personally I will give it a try.

This is also similar to that new Spanish beer that is claiming to have gluten but lower than the legal linit amount.

Different people have different tolerance levels. Being 'below the legal limit' doesn't mean it is safe for all. We have to keep in mind that the legal limit can change, it used to be 200ppm now it is 20ppm and for some of us that is still too high. Also in some countries what is in these products differ. In the US for example wine coolers are malt based beverages but that is not the case in all.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I loved these things but I don't think I will chance it.

Perhaps some nice lemonade with some soda water and a splash of vodka?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I had a few last night. I am feeling a little off but no major bouts of issues. I brought a 6 pack. Maybe I will have the other 3 over the weekend. If I feel "off" again I probably will look at this as a failed experiment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Malt is not safe. I don't think the distillation process of a malt beverage changes the fact that it is malt. Granted, malt isn't one of the items that triggers a HUGE reaction in me...for the first year of my diagnosis I was still eating Rice Krispies because my then doctor told me they were gluten free (mind you this was 7 years ago) but I honestly think its foolish to risk it when its very clearly stated that celiac disease and a gluten free diet means to avoid wheat, rye, barely and malt.

Just my two or three cents!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One problem with liquor - any liquor - is that it often falls into the category of 'processed in a facility that also processes wheat.' If a company is making any alcohol out of a gluten grain, distilled or not, then gluten is in the facility. That ups the cc risks.

Also, one of the big issues with barley malt is that the test for gluten is less accurate with barley gluten.

( http://glutenfreeworks.com/blog/2010/10/04/barley-malt-ingredients-in-labeled-gluten-free-foods/ )

shauna

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Malt products are not gluten-free. Sorry, I miss hard lemonade too.

At the grocery store last week I asked about Gluten-Free beer and the manager pointed me to Mike's Hard Lemonade Light and the packaging states it's gluten free. He said he asked the distributor and was told it's just the light that's Gluten-Free. I hadn't had any problems w/ the first few I drank but in the last 2 days, I had 2 each day and today my tummy is a bit upset so it's very possible that even though it's packaged as Gluten-Free it's not completely. I know my friend said right off (when she saw me open it) "hey, that's a malt beverage, how can you drink that?". So I guess I will make sure I drink it on a very limited basis as I can't think of anything else that would have gotten my tummy in a bind (it's not bad but I can certainly tell somethings not exactly right). :ph34r:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not super sensitive when it comes to cross contamination so I thought I'd be safe with this one. I was so happy to read that the distilling process would make this gluten-free enough for me to drink! Well, after one, I started feeling gurgly. Not thinking about it too much, I had another one the next night with the same reaction. There's enough gluten in there to cause my body to react and I'm one of those who can share a glutened peanut butter jar, a knife, a toaster without any issues.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mike's is NOT distilled. The lite version has been tested to below 5 ppm.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.