Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Whey Protein Powder


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_marshlakemom_*

 
Guest_marshlakemom_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:25 PM

I drink a Whey Protein shake everyday, and the company ensured me it was gluten free. Should I be staying away from it?

Deb
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 bean

 
bean

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:42 PM

As long as you don't have a dairy allergy/intolerance, you should be fine :)

- Michelle :wub:
  • 0
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Michelle :)

Positive blood tests 4/29/05 (tTG & IgA)
*Osteoporosis (at 32!)
*Heartburn/Reflux (*ouch!*)
*Lifelong battle w/depression
*Dental enamel didn't form right when I was little (cavities cavities cavities)
*Neuropsych analysis lists all sorts of learning disabilities - which may be attributed to brain injury from an old accident or may be from celiac, who knows!

Had biopsy May 11th, 2005 - villi are FLAT! :(
gluten-free since May 11th :)

#3 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:46 PM

Whey has nothing to do with gluten...it has to do with milk. So as Michelle said, as long as you are fine with dairy then you should be ok
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#4 Guest_marshlakemom_*

 
Guest_marshlakemom_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:56 PM

Thanks guys

I was just reading earlier about a gal here on the forum who said she could have a certain margarine because it contained whey, and in my stupidity wasn't thinking it would be a dairy intolerance. Ah Duh!!!!!!!!! I'm just panicing over everything, trying to be absolute gluten-free and see if I start feeling better. Been too long in denial and dabbling and time to smarten up.

Thanks again,

Deb
  • 0

#5 Guest_marshlakemom_*

 
Guest_marshlakemom_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:57 PM

Sorry, I meant to say she couldn't have a certain margerine. Damn brain fog anyway.

Deb
  • 0

#6 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 04:32 PM

Whey is, I believe, a milk fat...gluten-free, anyway
  • 0

#7 bean

 
bean

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
 

Posted 21 July 2005 - 09:47 PM

Whey & Casein are actually milk *proteins* - whey in particular is a great source of protein for vegetarians. It's in just about every protein shake & bar there is! It's simply the protein, no fat, no lactose - just protein. Most people don't have a problem with it. It's also in a lot of frozen dinners - as a cheap protein source. After I found out that I'm allergic to dairy, I learned that it's in 98% of the convenience foods I ate! Ack! :blink:

But if you are fine with dairy, then you'll be fine with whey - even if you are lactose intolerant (lactose is the milk sugar and is currently removed from most protein shakes & bars). Enjoy ;)

- Michelle :wub:
  • 0

#8 Heather22

 
Heather22

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 95 posts
 

Posted 22 July 2005 - 07:31 AM

Hi Deb

I am lactose intolerant and I also have whey protein powder every day. Just read the labels. Some brands are either lactose free or have very low lactose. I can tolerate both, even though I am very sensititve. Go figure.
When buying protein powder, also keep in mind that some DO have gluten....either in the form of modified food starch or some type of thickener.

Good luck!

Heather : )
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: