Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tomato Paste--is It Ok?
0

26 posts in this topic

When shopping for food today with my MIL, who often shops for my FIL who is also gluten-intolerant, she told me that tomato paste is unsafe on a gluten-free diet. What are your experiences with it? Is it thickened with wheat or wheat products? Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The tomato paste I usually use Del Monte brand I think... is just tomatoes, nothing else... I would think it depends on the brand.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The tomato paste I usually use Del Monte brand I think... is just tomatoes, nothing else... I would think it depends on the brand.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Wow, what a quick reply--I appreciate that! I thought paste was only tomatoes too, so maybe MIL is mistaken . . . I hope so anyhow. I went and bought some corn spaghetti at the store today, so we'll see how that goes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you probably won't be too excited with the corn spagetti, most people aren't. But if you can find Tinkyada Rice pasta, it is BY FAR the best gluten-free pasta on the market!

I just double checked Del Monte's website and ALL of their tomato products are Gluten Free as well as all of their canned fruits and vegetables, fruit cups and 100% Juices.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you probably won't be too excited with the corn spagetti, most people aren't. But if you can find Tinkyada Rice pasta, it is BY FAR the best gluten-free pasta on the market!

I just double checked Del Monte's website and ALL of their tomato products are Gluten Free as well as all of their canned fruits and vegetables, fruit cups and 100% Juices.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hmm, may have to mail-order the Tinkyada Rice pasta, as I didn't see it at Kroger; maybe the health food store has it, will check there . . .

I of course checked the list on the main website here of the safe and forbidden foods. I didn't see tomato paste on it, or any other ingredients in the Ragu sauce I love so much, so maybe it's OK. . .

Good deal--I love their canned fruits!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Always check the ingredients, but tomato paste should be nothing but tomatoes. You can make your own by blanching/peeling tomatoes, seeding them, and then cooking them down to a paste, but that's way more work than it's worth most of the time. ;-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Always check the ingredients, but tomato paste should be nothing but tomatoes.  You can make your own by blanching/peeling tomatoes, seeding them, and then cooking them down to a paste, but that's way more work than it's worth most of the time. ;-)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I thought that was the case. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corn pasta in elbow shape makes the BEST macaroni, though, mmmmmm...my non-celiac dh even prefers it over the wheat pasta, lol

Merika

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Warning warning......Some tomato pastes DO have GLUTEN in them. I bought one awhile back. Always check. I use Ragu. Prego is great too. Tinkyada can is the best. Can't tell the difference between Tink and regular pastas. Nothing compares.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you tell us which tomato paste it was so we knowm which one to avoid? This would be the first tomato paste with gluten I've ever heard of.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

huh... I've seen pasta sauces with gluten in them, but never a tomato paste. (Then again, I've never seen Ragu or Prego make tomato paste, so maybe I just haven't seen them...)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tarnalberry, sorry, I was confusing there. I didn't mean Ragu and Prego made tomato paste. Just meant we use those spaghetti sauces.

I don't recall the brand of paste with gluten. I only remember opening a tiny can of paste about a year ago for chili and thought to myself I should read the ingredients *JUST TO BE SURE*....and was shocked that there was WHEAT in it. I remember because it was so unexpected. That's all I got!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Contadina tomato paste with Italian Seasonings is NOT gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was probably what I was using. It sounds just like me to put an Italian paste in Chili. I once put a big roast in a crockpot with Ketchup and A-1 sauce and Worstester sauce. I thought all of those things tasted good on meat. My sister said serving that to children bordered on child abuse. My gluten free child doesn't know how lucky he's been eating gluten free all these years! Ener-G bread ain't nothin compared to my cooking! ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hmm, may have to mail-order the Tinkyada Rice pasta, as I didn't see it at Kroger; maybe the health food store has it, will check there  . . .

I of course checked the list on the main website here of the safe and forbidden foods.  I didn't see tomato paste on it, or any other ingredients in the Ragu sauce I love so much, so maybe it's OK.  . .

Good deal--I love their canned fruits!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

cgd...Tinkyada is very good. They have penne, macaroni, spegetti and several others. When my sister was diagnosed about 5 years ago and I remembered that most everything she tried was horrible..kind of mushy, etc. So when my mom bought the Tinkyada...I was a little bit on the negative side :angry: ....but to my surprise :o, it tasted just like regular wheat pasta. The only difference I noticed was the texture was a bit more chewy, but perhaps I needed to cook it longer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you tell us which tomato paste it was so we knowm which one to avoid? This would be the first tomato paste with gluten I've ever heard of.

The Whole Foods brand tomato paste says it's manufactured in a facility that also processes things with milk and wheat in them. So in that case it's possible to have cross-contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When shopping for food today with my MIL, who often shops for my FIL who is also gluten-intolerant, she told me that tomato paste is unsafe on a gluten-free diet. What are your experiences with it? Is it thickened with wheat or wheat products? Thanks!

I was at walmart shopping for tomato paste and many of the name brands had wheat in them. The walmart brand was the only one that had just tomato in it. Go figure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from almost five years ago, so much of the information in it may be out of date.

I was at walmart shopping for tomato paste and many of the name brands had wheat in them. The walmart brand was the only one that had just tomato in it. Go figure.

Would you please list for us the names of the brands that have wheat as an ingredient. I have never seen one in over nine years of reading labels as a celiac.

The Whole Foods brand tomato paste says it's manufactured in a facility that also processes things with milk and wheat in them. So in that case it's possible to have cross-contamination.

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from almost five years ago, so much of the information in it may be out of date.

Would you please list for us the names of the brands that have wheat as an ingredient. I have never seen one in over nine years of reading labels as a celiac.

I only found one online- contadina italian w/herbs. I will check next time I go. Maybe it's just the ones with herbs.

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.

That depends on the facility and their manufacturing practices. I've eaten some products that have given me terrible reactions, most recently frozen spinach, and I later contacted the company and found out that their spinach is manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat. (They're probably packaged on shared equipment.)

So I don't think one can make the general statement that the risk of contamination is low. It really depends on the company, the manufactures, and even employees, to know how to avoid cross contamination issues.

If there are possibilities for cross-contamination, the most thorough companies do regular testing of their gluten free products to make sure they really are gluten free. Many companies don't do that however.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone happen to know if the little tins of "Maggi" Pasta de tomate are gluten free?  and while I am here asking, are the jars of Pesto, namely Cirio Pestp Gluten free too..thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone happen to know if the little tins of "Maggi" Pasta de tomate are gluten free?  and while I am here asking, are the jars of Pesto, namely Cirio Pestp Gluten free too..thanks.

idk - what are the ingredients?  (this is a very old thread)  i use hunt's tomato paste with no problem BUT still read the label every time.  if you are outside north america, you might want to ask in the international section of the forum.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used a couple of cans of Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes last week, and after I poured them in the pot, I read the label - and, yes, they contained gluten.  I can't remember the brand, but it was in a yellow can.  Ronzoni gluten-free pasts is also very good.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

idk - what are the ingredients?  (this is a very old thread)  i use hunt's tomato paste with no problem BUT still read the label every time.  if you are outside north america, you might want to ask in the international section of the forum.

Thanks everyone...I found some Hunts tomato paste in the supermarket so I think I will be okay with that..I'm in Costa Rica, some labelling is in Spanish, so its a bit tricky...another question if I may,I  looked online for info but not sure as two different opinions...can I use Achiote Paste or not...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Usually Achiote Paste is made from Spices.  Most Single Spices are gluten-free.  You would have to look at the actual ingredients to see if anything is added.  I do know that you can make your own blend.  There are recipes on the net.

 

Colleen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,090
    • Total Posts
      920,307
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi, No, I do not have celiac  disease. I have an ankylosing spondylitis which is an auto-immune disease provoking an inflammation of the joints. Under the advice and supervision of my doctor and the professor at the hospital I follow a gluten free & casein free diet, which is extremely successful in preventing inflammatory events. And I've been doing so, strictly, for more than 6 years. So I'm not Celiac, but I can tell you that I react strongly every time I take gluten even in small amounts. Even soya sauce, which according to this website has an almost zero dose of gluten, is a lot too much for me. Nevertheless I allow myself to eat food which has been processed in a factory which processes gluten. To conclude, I would say that when you are travelling, especially in a country where celiac disease is scarcely known, you should be twice as careful as when you're going out at home. In the end you can never guarantee that the cook has cleaned his pan after using soya sauce and so on... You can only bet
    • Along those lines, many Americans are now pursuing gluten-free eating. Gluten ... Diagnosis of celiac disease typically requires a history and physical ... View the full article
    • No!  Once you fill the tub, if you sit in it for 3 minutes or you stay for 10... It doesn't change the amount or cost of the water.  That's only relevant if you have 3 kids to cycle thru that same water.  Is your hub bathing in the same water after you? Lol  And even if you add some more hot and stay longer....well...it's much cheaper than perscription meds, vodka or a substance that is legal in a few states.     Of course this only pertains to those of use with running water.... If you make your hub haul water from the creek or well and heat it over a fire....
    • Whether it is bona fide dermatitis herpetiformis, or severe eczema or hives or what have you, we all want to know how to stop the incessant itching.  Through all my research, the solution comes down to one thing: a good long soak in the tub-- with baking soda or Epsom salts or some kind of herbal tea, followed by a rub down in thick expensive lotion.  I don't know about you, but I was brought up to "get in, get done get out."  A long soak in the bath was a frivolous luxury, and a waste of time and hot water.  So now I'm having this awful breakout from forgetting to read a label and got wheated.  And every night I've been soaking in a baking soda bath to relieve the itching and aid my recovery.  And it's been hard! (But it's been very helpful too)  It has been hard to reconcile this "frivolous luxury and waste of time" as medically necessary!  Fortunately I've had no judging, and only support from my husband, who has had a similar upbringing.  Does anyone else struggle with this?
    • His son, Eli, had been misdiagnosed with celiac disease, so the family tried some gluten-free foods. After adding quinoa (KEEN-wah) to their diet, ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • HappyMom623

      I have Tangled problem! I want all the things Rapunzel Related....including Flynn Rider 😂 but seriously. I have like 8 shirts I want.
      · 0 replies
    • AprilBeth2013

      RT @MarkDever: “But the work is God’s and we do not fear the final results. ‘The heathen shall be given to His Son for His inheritance,’ .…
      · 0 replies
    • silk

      I have celiac disease and have been gluten-free for almost 10 years.  I am extremely sensitive to gluten, noting that I react within 15 minutes of contact and in fact the doctor suspects that there may also be an actual wheat allergy at play but have never bothered to be tested since I avoid it like the plague!  I am curious to know if anyone else reacts to flax or inulin?  My symptoms with those two are almost identical to gluten so I have to really watch for that in gluten-free breads and baking and recently discovered after the fact that flax was in the juice I was drinking. I know that people with gluten issues can have other problems as well and in fact I also avoid milk products.  Even after 10 years, and although it has become a way of life, it's still frustrating to have to read every ingredient on every label.😞
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,117
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    cdliac3855
    Joined