Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Tea Can It Contain Gluten?


  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 Newtoitall

 
Newtoitall

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 160 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:20 PM

http://www.transherb...the_noir_chai_e

I was looking at that, baught it on a whim, because it sounded sorta delicious.

It's Organic black tea chai

IngredientsOothu black tea leaves º *, cinnamon bark º *, cardamom seeds º *, ginger root º *, star anise º, organic cloves º *, black pepper º *.

ºOrganic ingredient

the ingrediants sorta scare my sensitive stomach but, it doesn't say anything about having or not having gluten, I am going to try to contact them but I was wondering if anyone knew about tea =)

**the site did in fact say the product is gluten free, but the question does stand, can tea be contaminated?
  • 0

Gluten Free since Xmas 2010

 

Current Auto Immune Diseases:

 

Celiac Disease, Interstitial Cystitis, IBS, Dermatitis Herpetiformis, I'm playing life on Hard Mode.

 

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Korwyn

 
Korwyn

    Don't forget your towel!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 602 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:28 PM

Yes. It can have gluten in it. Barley, Barley malt, germinated wheat, all sorts of fun stuff. A lot of the Celestial Seasonings teas are tested for gluten and labelled gluten free.
  • 0
Undiagnosed for 20 years since first symptoms.
March 2009 - Negative Blood work
April 24, 2009 - Gluten-free
April 29, 2009 - Notably positive response to gluten-free Diet.
May 2, 2009 Dairy Free
May 6, 2009, Soy Free
May 27, 2009 Enterolab Results: Positive Anti-gliadin IgA, tTG IgA, Casein, HLA DQ2.2, HLA DQ8
June 4, 2009 Refined sugar free (except Raw Honey, pure Maple syrup)
June 29, 2009, Dad diagnosed Celiac by GI specialist via blood work and dietary response.
July 2009, Dad's gene test: double DQ8! Thanks Dad - I'll try to get you something nice for Christmas! :)
August 8, 2009 Really Soy free this time - Thanks Blue Diamond for the soy lecithin in the almond milk! :(

#3 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,317 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:31 PM

Tea will say if it has barley, malt, barley grass, wheat grass, etc in it. It's part of what makes the flavor so " special". But that tea sounds nice.
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#4 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 04:46 PM

If they package malt-containing teas on the same lines, it could be CC'd with traces of gluten. Personally, I'd order it and not worry since the manufacturer says the tea is gluten free.

Sadly, just about anything that comes out a facility that processes gluten can theoretically be CC'd. It depends on your personal sensitivity how much you need to worry about it.
  • 0

#5 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 05:48 PM

Sadly, just about anything that comes out a facility that processes gluten can theoretically be CC'd. It depends on your personal sensitivity how much you need to worry about it.

Even products made in a gluten-free facility are at risk for ingredients that arrive there already contaminated. Cross-contamination can occur at ANY point along the production process, starting in the farmer's field.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#6 GFinDC

 
GFinDC

    A little farting never hurt anybody... :-).

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,163 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2011 - 08:06 PM

Even products made in a gluten-free facility are at risk for ingredients that arrive there already contaminated. Cross-contamination can occur at ANY point along the production process, starting in the farmer's field.


Already contaminated? :) I once saw a farmer's field that wuz full of poop! Seriously! U cud smell it a mile away. It is really good fertilizer and cheap, if you raise cows, horses, or chickens. Or know someone who does. That's y farmers buy manure spreaders to use for fertilizing.

Peter, just kidding here. but all true too. I totally agree with U, the farmers field and storage facillities (silos), harvesting equipment, transport (trucks) etc are all a potential cc risk.

Plus of course crop rotation in the same field to boost productivity is a standard recommended practice. Soy beans add nitrogen to the soil so they are often used as a rotation crop. Nitrogen fertilizer is expensive so it makes an ecological and green alternative for farming. And everybody luvs soy , so y not? :(

And who can afford to have dedicated harvesting equipment for each crop? That equipment is expensive and not easy to afford. Plus dangerous if U get your arm or hand in the wrong spot at the right time. Farming is hard work for the little guys anyway.

Crap, now I fergot whut this thread wuz about. Oh yeah, tea! Some Celestial Seasonings teas do have barley in them. And there wuz a thread about Irish teas on an airline recently having gluten/barley malt in them. So double yes, can have, check labels carefully.

Or, if you have hay fever like some people, avoid herbal teas made with lots of great sounding wild plants and weeds, pollen makers, and things that might make your hayfever react too. Gluten is not the only problem out there. Or in here. :)
  • 0
Proverbs 25:16 "Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it."
Job 30:27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.
Thyroid cyst and nodules, Lactose / casein intolerant. Diet positive, gene test pos, symptoms confirmed by Dr-head. My current bad list is: gluten, dairy, sulfites, coffee (the devil's brew), tea, Bug's Bunnies carrots, garbanzo beans of pain, soy- no joy, terrible turnips, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, and hard work. have a good day! :-) Paul

#7 viviendoparajesus

 
viviendoparajesus

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 88 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:25 AM

Tea can have gluten. Some are labeled gluten free. I have seen some that are labeled gluten free. However, with gluten containing ingredients as key components of some teas or used for flavoring there would definitely seem to be the risk for cross contamination. I think I have seen some that are gluten free but have wheat, which I would avoid because of my issues with gluten and wheat and not wanting to chance it. I wish we did not have to worry about cross contamination life would be so much easier that way.
  • 0
Misdiagnosed - IBS, TMJ, eczema, KP, etc
Real Diagnosis - Gluten & Casein (milk protein) Intolerance, Cross Reactivity to Yeast & Buckwheat
Recommend: Tests: Entero Labs Gluten Sensitivity & Gene Testing
Books: * Allergies by Dr. Carolee Bateson-Koch (digestion, yeast, parasites, body pH...)
* Why Do I Still Have Thyroid Symptoms by Dr. Datis Kharrazian (gluten & autoimmune problems)
* Change Your Brain Change Your Life by Dr. Daniel Amen (foods, supplements...)
Supplements: * digestive enzymes, * probiotics (dairy free - Klaire Labs - Pro5)

#8 Gemini

 
Gemini

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,160 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2011 - 07:51 AM

http://www.transherb.com/en/products/four.aspx?p=the_noir_chai_e

I was looking at that, baught it on a whim, because it sounded sorta delicious.

It's Organic black tea chai

IngredientsOothu black tea leaves *, cinnamon bark *, cardamom seeds *, ginger root *, star anise , organic cloves *, black pepper *.

Organic ingredient

the ingrediants sorta scare my sensitive stomach but, it doesn't say anything about having or not having gluten, I am going to try to contact them but I was wondering if anyone knew about tea =)

**the site did in fact say the product is gluten free, but the question does stand, can tea be contaminated?


Yes, tea can contain gluten but Chai teat is fine...I drink it all the time. The above ingredients are just spices and spices are gluten-free.....except when they are sold as seasonings, which is a mixture of things. Not all seasonings are gluten-free so you would have to read the label on those.

Things to watch out for in tea....anything malted or containing barley, which another poster mentioned. I have never had any tea which was contaminated.
I doubt it happens that often because I drink a lot of tea and only got sick once when I ingested tea which may have been malted and I didn't know it.
I was traveling when that happened.
  • 0

#9 Takala

 
Takala

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:10 AM

Some of the Tazo flavored teas contain gluten. "Natural flavorings" can contain ANYTHING.

I just looked at their tazo.com website FAQ (today is June 1, 2011) and they claim their "natural flavoring" information is proprietary, "not something they can reveal," and that if people need to know the ingredients for allergies, they suggest that a flavor without that be selected.



Tazo Faq

All of our teas are gluten free, except for the following: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade.



I had a clerk at a Starbucks one time give me the wrong teabag (fortunately I sniffed it in time before drinking it) and several times at restaurants I've had them try to give me flavored green tea when I asked for plain. :angry:

The people at Border's Books, on the other hand, are very cooperative and will actually let me look at the container the loose tea that they use comes in. :)
  • 0

#10 Korwyn

 
Korwyn

    Don't forget your towel!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 602 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:48 AM

Some of the Tazo flavored teas contain gluten. "Natural flavorings" can contain ANYTHING.

I just looked at their tazo.com website FAQ (today is June 1, 2011) and they claim their "natural flavoring" information is proprietary, "not something they can reveal," and that if people need to know the ingredients for allergies, they suggest that a flavor without that be selected.


Yeah. I contacted Tazo about 12 months ago about one of their teas - 'Awake'. A unique set of reactions for me that I don't get from anything but soy. They didn't reply to my email or contact via their website, and when I called they were quite snotty and refused to tell me anything about it. I've thought about filing a complaint with the FDA regarding possibly unlabelled allergens but since I don't have a documented soy 'allergy' I don't think I'd have grounds to file a complaint.

Tea can have gluten. Some are labeled gluten free. I have seen some that are labeled gluten free. However, with gluten containing ingredients as key components of some teas or used for flavoring there would definitely seem to be the risk for cross contamination. I think I have seen some that are gluten free but have wheat, which I would avoid because of my issues with gluten and wheat and not wanting to chance it. I wish we did not have to worry about cross contamination life would be so much easier that way.


Celestial Seasonings labels all their teas that are tested gluten-free as 'Gluten-Free' and they also label those that contain gluten (I think there are three) as 'Contains Gluten'. Good Earth teas are also supposed to be gluten free, and I've never had a reaction to any of the ones we drink.
  • 0
Undiagnosed for 20 years since first symptoms.
March 2009 - Negative Blood work
April 24, 2009 - Gluten-free
April 29, 2009 - Notably positive response to gluten-free Diet.
May 2, 2009 Dairy Free
May 6, 2009, Soy Free
May 27, 2009 Enterolab Results: Positive Anti-gliadin IgA, tTG IgA, Casein, HLA DQ2.2, HLA DQ8
June 4, 2009 Refined sugar free (except Raw Honey, pure Maple syrup)
June 29, 2009, Dad diagnosed Celiac by GI specialist via blood work and dietary response.
July 2009, Dad's gene test: double DQ8! Thanks Dad - I'll try to get you something nice for Christmas! :)
August 8, 2009 Really Soy free this time - Thanks Blue Diamond for the soy lecithin in the almond milk! :(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: