This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Diagnosed Just Today!

MommyMonica

MommyMonica Newbie

Hey fellow celiac-ers?!

Been ill for quite some time and just found out today I have celiac disease. I have had IBS, acid reflux and gastritis for years, but this is totally new to me. I am new to the gluten-free lifestyle. Am very nervous and overwhelmed by everything I am having to change and adjust. But excited and actually have HOPE now for getting out of the bed and playing with my 2 year old and 4 year old and enjoying life again.

But, I need YOUR help!!! The good, the bag and the ugly... share it all with me. I am open, ready and willing to take back control of my LIFE!

Monica

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

Hey Monica!

Read around on this forum. Use the google in the top right corner. Most very question you have gets answered every week it seems like. I'm hoping for something really odd or unusual.

It's a lot to try to get at once.

Skylark Collaborator

Welcome, and don't panic. B)

Shopping can be overwhelming so I always tell new celiacs to shop the outside of the store and stick to simple foods. Label-reading will take a little practice and research. It's easy to tell that a banana or a potato is gluten-free. I detour around the bakery section. I feel like an invisible cloud of gluten is hovering in the air. :P