This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Someone Who Knows What They're Talking About

jennennyc

jennennyc Newbie

Hi everyone -

This is my first time here, so here's a little background on my situation:

I have been continually sick/run down for about 4 years now. I have been diagnosed and then un-diagnosed with IBS, CFS, fibromyalgia, mono, hypothyroid, hormone imbalances, anemia and all kinds of nutritional defficiencies, but everything is always just "slightly low" and never enough to point to a problem. After all these tests, I have been bled dry (both literally and monetarily!) and cannot afford or stomach the idea of shopping around for a new doctor for the nth time, getting blood tests, biopsies, etc. SO, at the suggestion of my acupuncturist and two friends who are celiacs and had similar health problems, I started a gluten-elimination diet last Friday to try and figure out if gluten could be the cause of my problems.

So, I would like to hear from some of you who may have been through this already to answer a few questions:

1. How long does it usually take to work? (I was told to try it for 2 weeks - is that long enough?)

2. Will it still work if I am accidentally exposed to trace amounts of gluten? Or do I have to start over if that happens?(for example, I went to a restaurant where there was nothing for me to eat, so I had a garden burger and took the bun off --- then I learned that many veggie burgers contain gluten!)

3. Any other tips or advice from anyone else who did a diagnosis through elimination diet?