13 replies to this topic

#1 New_To_This

New_To_This

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 08 July 2011 - 06:52 PM

I have an embarrassing question to ask all those who are not celiac but eat gluten free because of a family member. I find that if I go out with friends now and have a pizza or something with wheat in it, I get severe gas. And I mean severe! Not an few minor farts, but long ones every minute or so, and this lasts for hours after eating gluten. If I hold it in, I end up with cramps. This is accompanied by bloating as well. Is this normal? I have had to ask to eat "same" foods and my friends say, you don't have to eat that way, your husbands not here. Is this a side affect of being of glutens and then going back on them? I used to get gas like this on donut fridays at work. To the point I was in severe pain from holding it back. I always thought it was the sugar and bread from the krispy cremes, now I'm not so sure. When I passed on the donuts on Fridays I seemed fine most of the time. Am I a silent sufferer because I don't get the other symptoms that so many celiacs show?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 cyberprof

cyberprof

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts

Posted 08 July 2011 - 09:57 PM