Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Opinions On Black Diamond Cheese
0

13 posts in this topic

Ok so I walked away with nothing but confusion, after reading that.

I'm not sure if it's one of those... they just can't say it's gluten-free or.. it's CC'd somehow?

I was wondering because I wanted to try

http://www.blackdiamond.ca/#/products/natural/medium-cheddar

the ingredients seem fine?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

First - That post was from 2005. 6 years is a long time in product info.

I eat the cheese because its cheese. As far as I can tell, a cheese factory makes cheese & maybe various dairy products. There is no reason to think there is wheat anywhere near the milk & cheese. Maybe in the breakroom?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You absolutely do NOT have to worry about cheddar cheese (or pretty much any cheese for that matter). And as kareng has pointed out, you can safely ignore a 6-year-old thread.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is in regard to Canadian rules. In Canada, since cheese is naturally gluten-free, it is considered misleading to describe any particular cheese as gluten-free. Only products which might reasonably contain gluten, but in fact do not, can be marketed as "gluten-free." You can say something like: "this cheese, like all cheese, is gluten-free."

ETA: I eat Black Diamond Cheddar regularly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I can tell, a cheese factory makes cheese & maybe various dairy products. There is no reason to think there is wheat anywhere near the milk & cheese.

I literally just came across a glutened cheese today for the first time (aside from some super fancy Bleu cheese): beer-washed cheese. :blink:

This is the kind I saw today: http://cheeseandchampagne.com/2010/05/25/new-beer-washed-cheeses-from-keswick-creamery/

I had no idea this even existed! I looked on the web and it looks like ale washed or beer washed cheeses are not from this company alone, although not ever-present, either, thankfully.

Sigh...guess these might be something in the category of 'also processed in a factory that processes wheat,' if a cheese company also makes beer washed cheese.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I literally just came across a glutened cheese today for the first time (aside from some super fancy Bleu cheese): beer-washed cheese. :blink:

This is the kind I saw today: http://cheeseandchampagne.com/2010/05/25/new-beer-washed-cheeses-from-keswick-creamery/

I had no idea this even existed! I looked on the web and it looks like ale washed or beer washed cheeses are not from this company alone, although not ever-present, either, thankfully.

Sigh...guess these might be something in the category of 'also processed in a factory that processes wheat,' if a cheese company also makes beer washed cheese.

There are some specialty cheeses made with beer. Regular grocery store mass produced is what we were talking about. If it's made with beer, it will proudly state that fact. Only some beers are made with wheat so it might not say wheat. All non- gluten-free beers are made with barley .

My hub came home from a Boy Scout camp out. They had stopped at the Osceola ( Missouri) cheese factory. They make delicious specialty cheeses. He had a cheese with blueberries and a beer cheddar. Oops! He said they were good. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some gourmet cheeses imported from Europe can contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some gourmet cheeses imported from Europe can contain gluten.

Can you give some examples? I've never seen these.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you give some examples? I've never seen these.

richard

I cannot recall the brand names (one was French) and we do not have any left in the fridge. Next time I see one I will write it down. They are rare cheeses, though, definitely not available in grocery stores. One I saw was in Italy I think.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you're ultra-sensitive, there is the blue cheese question too. Many blue cheeses are 100% naturally gluten free but some artisan cheeses have the mold culture started on bread. There is still no detectable gluten in the finished cheese so even the cheeses with cultures that were started on bread are safe for almost all of us. If you're unlucky enough to react to distilled alcohols or other grain-based products that also have no detectable gluten it's something to be aware of.

This is a fabulous article from the Canadian Celiac Society about blue cheese with the testing.

http://www.glutenfreediet.ca/img/bluecheese.pdf

By the way, I wouldn't hesitate to buy that Black Diamond cheese. I don't even worry about blue cheeses myself after reading that article. I'm not sensitive enough to react to things that test essentially gluten-free. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"This is a fabulous article from the Canadian Celiac Society about blue cheese with the testing.

http://www.glutenfre.../bluecheese.pdf"

Thanks for the article. Bottom line: Canadian celiac society has listed blue cheese as safe for 20 years now. And the testing done for this piece using three highly sensitive tests found NO detectable gluten in 4 brands with a gluten base starter. One of the tests even looks for protein fragments.

Blue cheese simply is not something to worry about.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blue cheese simply is not something to worry about.

For most folks, no. However, I am continually amazed by a small group of people on this board whose immune systems do not miss a single molecule of gliadin peptide. These individuals are far more sensitive than an R5 or even a protein fragment ELISA. Rather than providing blanket statements of safety, I think it's better to provide accurate information and let everyone select foods according to their personal levels of sensitivity. B)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For most folks, no. However, I am continually amazed by a small group of people on this board whose immune systems do not miss a single molecule of gliadin peptide. These individuals are far more sensitive than an R5 or even a protein fragment ELISA. Rather than providing blanket statements of safety, I think it's better to provide accurate information and let everyone select foods according to their personal levels of sensitivity. B)

OK, to be more accurate, blue cheese is considered a safe food by all or nearly all celiac associations and would appear to not be a worry for all but a teeny tiny percentage of people with celiac. Even the most sensitive tests have not been able to detect gluten in blue cheese. If you haven't tried blue cheese since diagnosis, the odds are EXTREMELY high that you can eat it without trouble.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,376
    • Total Posts
      920,581
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Consider using our forum private message feature to protect privacy....just in case you all did not know 😉 !
    • Hi Beachgrl, It won't hurt anything to go gluten-free now, except the possibility of getting a diagnosis of celiac disease.  When i went gluten-free, it seemed like the initial changes were spread over about 6 weeks.  I had gut spasms for that time.  And other changes, all for the better.  Initial recovery from celiac damage can take up to 18 months, so it can be a slow thing.  Some people get better much faster of course, because we are all individuals and not identical. Going gluten-free for celiac disease is a lifetime commitment though, and some people have a hard time doing that without a diagnosis.  Even minor amounts of gluten can cause us to react, so it is best to eat a very simple diet of whole foods at first.  Avoid dairy and processed foods.  I hope it works out for you.  I know some people with Crohns disease eat gluten-free and find it helps them.  Gluten is a tough thing to digest for all people, but most don't have an immune reaction to it like celiacs do.  
    • Honestly, I would not trust the school to provide a gluten-free meal except for fruit, salads, veggies, etc. I sub in a school cafeteria and I swear everything is breaded or on bread. Utensils are shared. They're very clean but unless you have a very knowledgeable person in there, I just wouldn't chance it. I found a slim Jim type snack that says gluten-free on it. If you want to give me your email or FB account, I can send you some very valuable info on 504's though. They carry the student right through college. I kept a copy of what a friend wrote about her daughter being in a sorority and just how the 504 helped immensely. But, I would definitely get one and still be prepared to pack a lunch. All our meals are delivered frozen and we just hear them up. If your school actually fixes food, that's different. 
    • Oh, I would suggest providing gluten-free goodies (e.g. Candy) or even a frozen cupcake (kept in the teacher's freezer) in the event of a party.  My daughter's classmate is severely allergic to peanuts.  Her mom did that and Abby was never left out!  😊
    • Hi Nobody, Welcome to the forum!  I noticed you said you have been avoiding wheat products.  That's good, but are you avoiding rye and barley also?  Wheat, rye, and barley are the 3 grains that cause reactions in celiac patients.  About 10% also react to oats. If you haven't had the full celiac antibodies test panel, it might be worthwhile getting that done now.  The ttg is just a basic test and is generally followed up by an endoscopy or the full celiac panel. I wouldn't worry a lot about getting cancer.  That doesn't happen often. It is possible some of the other grains you might be eating are contaminated.  A group did a test on several off the shelf products a few years ago that would not normally be thought of as having gluten and found some actually did have low levels of gluten.  Things like corn meal for example.    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,453
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined