Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Is Wheat Free The Same As Gluten Free?


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_zipy_*

 
Guest_zipy_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 29 July 2005 - 04:52 PM

Okay, so if I see the label wheat-free is that the same as gluten-free?

Thanks,
Erin
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 29 July 2005 - 04:58 PM

Nope not at all. Gluten is also found in rye,barley, and oats. So wheat free does NOT mean gluten free.
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#3 PicturePerfect

 
PicturePerfect

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
 

Posted 31 July 2005 - 04:12 PM

Nope not at all. Gluten is also found in rye,barley, and oats. So wheat free does NOT mean gluten free.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


But still look at the ingredients to see if it IS gluten-free.
  • 0
lisa mccorkell
diagnosed on May 31, 2005
orange county, california

"Laziness will cause you pain." (Unknown)

#4 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 31 July 2005 - 04:38 PM

Alot of things I have found that say wheat free usually have rye, barley, or oats in them. You can't trust when it says wheat free so you have to check the ingredients and not depend on the "wheat-free"
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#5 Jnkmnky

 
Jnkmnky

    Bloom where you are planted.

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,350 posts
 

Posted 31 July 2005 - 05:06 PM

When a product says "WHEAT FREE", they're talking to the people with wheat allergies, not the people with Celiac Disease.
  • 0
I believe in God.

#6 VydorScope

 
VydorScope

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,364 posts
 

Posted 01 August 2005 - 01:23 AM

I have never found a product that only siad wheat free on it that was also gluten free. Thier prbly is some, but I would think its rare since if the maker is going to lable like that , and it is gluten free, they most likly would advertise that too. While it might hurt them to have to make gluten free stuff... it could only help them to lable stuff that already is gluten free as such.
  • 0

- Vincent -


#7 connole1056

 
connole1056

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
 

Posted 21 August 2005 - 11:23 AM

People make this mistake all the time. That is why I do not think it is a big deal that foods will be labeled wheat free. All it means for celiacs is that we do not have to look at the ingredients to decide whether or not to eat it. Maybe it is a step in the right direction though.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: