6 replies to this topic

#1 Nxsquid

Nxsquid

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 July 2011 - 06:48 PM

I'm new to being gluten-free, I was diagnosed a few weeks ago with Celiac, and I've felt great since going gluten-free. However, I still have reactions to sodas. First, Mug's root beer gave me a terrible reaction and Dr Pepper gave me a small one. I have no idea what it could be, can anyone help?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 eatmeat4good

eatmeat4good

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,699 posts

Posted 27 July 2011 - 07:39 PM

What are your reactions?
It could be Benzoates.
Almost all soda's are preserved with benzoates.
Only regular coke and seltzer water are not. (That I have found)
Some juices and juice drinks also have benzoates added.
I cannot tolerate benzoates, tartrazine, annato, or yellow food dyes because I am allergic to salicylates and there is a very high cross reactivity with these chemicals they add to food.

Don't know if this is true for you or not, but it is just something for you to consider.
Healing is a matter of time, but it is sometimes also a matter of opportunity.
--Hippocrates

#3 T.H.

T.H.

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,816 posts

Posted 27 July 2011 - 09:23 PM

It could be gluten, or it could be something else.

Many sodas will claim to be gluten free, but they are really in a category of foods that haven't tested for gluten, but simply don't add any gluten ingredients. As such, batches can sometimes be contaminated by gluten and make you ill.

Also, some celiacs start noticing reactions to other foods when they go gluten free. Certain dyes, artificial or natural flavors, and corn syrup is one that a number of people seem to have issue with, too.