Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Problems With Soda - Help?

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to being gluten-free, I was diagnosed a few weeks ago with Celiac, and I've felt great since going gluten-free. However, I still have reactions to sodas. First, Mug's root beer gave me a terrible reaction and Dr Pepper gave me a small one. I have no idea what it could be, can anyone help?

Ads by Google:

What are your reactions?

It could be Benzoates.

Almost all soda's are preserved with benzoates.

Only regular coke and seltzer water are not. (That I have found)

Some juices and juice drinks also have benzoates added.

I cannot tolerate benzoates, tartrazine, annato, or yellow food dyes because I am allergic to salicylates and there is a very high cross reactivity with these chemicals they add to food.

Don't know if this is true for you or not, but it is just something for you to consider.

It could be gluten, or it could be something else.

Many sodas will claim to be gluten free, but they are really in a category of foods that haven't tested for gluten, but simply don't add any gluten ingredients. As such, batches can sometimes be contaminated by gluten and make you ill.

Also, some celiacs start noticing reactions to other foods when they go gluten free. Certain dyes, artificial or natural flavors, and corn syrup is one that a number of people seem to have issue with, too.

I'd go, write down the ingredients of both mug rootbeer and Dr. pepper, note down how you reacted, and avoid them for now. If you react again to something, you may eventually notice a common ingredient, or that foods from a certain company are making you sick (the latter often indicates that something is contaminating that company's food, so a good sign to avoid it).

I seriously doubt you're having a gluten reaction.

richard