Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Another Whiskey Question


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 mbrookes

 
mbrookes

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 665 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2011 - 08:37 AM

I have had no trouble drinking bourbon, unless it is a sour mash type (like Jack Daniels) Is there something in the sour mash that causes problems, or is it just my peculiar system?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 ERR

 
ERR

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2011 - 10:10 AM

I have had no trouble drinking bourbon, unless it is a sour mash type (like Jack Daniels) Is there something in the sour mash that causes problems, or is it just my peculiar system?


Jack Daniels is gluten free, so it might be something other than a gluten reaction.
  • 0

#3 starrytrekchic

 
starrytrekchic

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2011 - 11:00 AM

According to a celiac who toured the JD distillery, the sour mash has gluten. http://answers.yahoo...07210758AAjvb1O (scroll down to the first other answer)

I'm one of the celiacs who can't have any alcohol distilled from gluten containing grains, but if you're drinking other bourbons then that's probably not your problem. I'd skip the sour mash and go back to something else.
  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: