10 replies to this topic

#1 john m

john m

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 August 2011 - 07:30 PM

I was just diagnosed with celiac about 3 weeks ago. I have been working in a bakery for 17 years. Will inhaling all flour that floats around that place be harmful to my healing and could that have played a part in me getting it? Ive asked my dr but he said there hasnt been much research on that yet. he basically said eat gluten free... Thanks, john

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 rosetapper23

rosetapper23

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 08 August 2011 - 09:12 PM

I know of another person who also worked in a bakery for many years and who developed celiac disease (of course, it's unknown if the exposure caused it). He is so super-sensitive to gluten, he has to wear a mask just to go outside because of the possibility of flour wafting from restaurants and bakeries. Currently, his life is pretty Hellish, and he's trying to find a way to heal. He still has Dermatitis Herpetiformis all over his scalp and can't seem to be rid of it. He also wonders whether working in a bakery may have caused his super-sensitivity to gluten.

#3 kenlove

kenlove

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,806 posts

Posted 08 August 2011 - 10:17 PM

I teach a class on fruit and product/recipe development at University of Hawaii culinary college and now, after getting celiac, have to wait a day after the bread class before I can teach. Had a lot of trouble from inhaling flour -- more than from accidental ingesting of gluten. I wish you luck.

I was just diagnosed with celiac about 3 weeks ago. I have been working in a bakery for 17 years. Will inhaling all flour that floats around that place be harmful to my healing and could that have played a part in me getting it? Ive asked my dr but he said there hasnt been much research on that yet. he basically said eat gluten free... Thanks, john