Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Why to get a diagnosis?

14 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I was needing to know if there is a good reason to get "tested". I have been doing the homeopathic thing for a couple years and have found a consideral gluten intolerance. When reading the definition of Celiac, I have all the symptoms except the dermatitis, ie. depression, anxiety, constipation, bloating, gas, mouth ulcers, etc. I have been gluten-free for 1 year now and ALL of those things have gone away!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have never been formally diagnosed with Celiac, and was wondering if there is a need. After all, there is no cure, except for what I am doing anyway. I need your input, good and bad. Thanks, Debbie

Ads by Google:

Hi Debbie, welcome to the board!

In my opinion if you have been on a gluten-free diet for a year and all the symptoms of celiac disease have disappeared in addition to your feeling better I would continue the gluten-free diet and not worry about getting tested. Why mess up a good thing, right?

You are right there is no cure except for what you are doing and you would have to gluten load for a month or more for the tests. If you could convince a doctor that you think you have celiac disease and need to be tested. Even then there is a possibility the test would come back negative. Do you really want to do that and have all your symptoms return? Personally for me my symptoms were SO terrible I would NEVER put myself through that again!

Of course if you need validation for family, friends, school or work then I would suggest Enterolab . You could always email Dr. Fine and ask him how long you would have to eat gluten in order for the stool test to come back accurate.

I hope this helps you. I think you are very smart for listening to your body and taking care of it!

Hi Debbie,