Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Breyer's Ice Cream


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 jebby

 
jebby

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2011 - 10:10 AM

I have been eating Breyer's chocolate and vanilla ice cream over the past week, and keep feeling like I am getting cross-contaminated with gluten. I have not eaten any other new foods. I have been able to eat both of these flavors in the past without a problem, the last time was probably 3 to 4 months ago. I am also able to ingest dairy/lactose without a problem.
Has anyone else had a problem with Breyer's ice cream recently? Per their website, they do not have a "gluten free" list, but Unilever will clearly disclose any sources of gluten. There is no mention of whether or not cross-contamination is a possibility. I'm just curious if anyone else is feeling unwell after eating this ice cream.
Thanks!
J
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 krystynycole

 
krystynycole

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2011 - 02:14 PM

Nope...no problems here. This is the only ice cream I eat!
  • 0

Gluten Free since November 2010 and feeling fantastic!

(Mis)diagnosis with IBS in 2004
MSG and caffeine free since 2001

#3 FernW

 
FernW

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2011 - 03:42 PM

Are you sure you are not latose or casean intollerant. I can no longer eat Ice Cream because I felt like I was cross contiminated but it was the milk allergy that got me sick. Now I can have a very little bit every so often but thats it. I miss ice cream. You can easily get tested for other food allergies. Just an idea, hope it helps a bit.
  • 1

#4 jebby

 
jebby

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2011 - 04:59 AM

I am pretty sure I am not lactose intolerant because I drink milk and eat cheese and yogurt without a problem. I have also eaten other types of ice cream recently without a problem. Thank you for the idea though.
  • 0

#5 shadowicewolf

 
shadowicewolf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,758 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2011 - 01:05 PM

could be something they put in the icecream as well.
  • 0

#6 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 10 September 2011 - 06:41 PM

I don't have trouble with Breyer's, but I ended up switching to Chapman's anyway because they label them directly as GLUTEN-FREE, which makes me feel better. I'm sorry you're having a tough time! If you don't have trouble digesting dairy normally, maybe it's the type of ice cream itself, like in the flavour that's causing you issues?
  • 0

#7 pricklypear1971

 
pricklypear1971

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,684 posts
 

Posted 10 September 2011 - 06:45 PM

I used to eat it all the time til I found Talenti Gelato. OMG.

It's labeled gluten-free.

I don't think I had a problem with Breyers, just didn't want corn syrup.
  • 1
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today. ~ Mark Twain

Probable Endometriosis, in remission from childbirth since 2002.
Hashimoto's DX 2005.
Gluten-Free since 6/2011.
DH (and therefore Celiac) dx from ND
.
Responsive to iodine withdrawal for DH (see quote, above).

Genetic tests reveal half DQ2, half DQ8 - I'm a weird bird!

#8 Takala

 
Takala

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts
 

Posted 10 September 2011 - 07:51 PM

could be something they put in the icecream as well.



Yup. They do put this "tara" gum into it.

http://adailyscoop.c...ponse/#comments

I wonder if they bumped the gum content up a bit to be able to add more air to the product.


I was eating this other "organic" brand for awhile, and then they started putting tapioca in it. And this was some expensive $$$ all natural blah blah brand to begin with. I can't take much tapioca, and I'm not paying primo just so they can make their ice cream gummier with tapioca filler, so, buh - bye.
  • 1

#9 jebby

 
jebby

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
 

Posted 10 September 2011 - 08:06 PM

Thank you. I think that this must be the answer and it was interesting to read other's comments about their reactions to tara gum in the link you provided. I am positive that there was not tara gum added to Breyer's ice cream when I had eaten it in the past. Now it all makes sense....I know that my body does not tolerate tara gum.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: