This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Paranoia

alucard4545

alucard4545 Explorer

I'm still new to the gluten free lifestyle and it can sure be a headache. Since even a trace amount of gluten can be harmful, I start getting paranoid about possibilities of getting contaminated.

-Some of these may sound silly, but for example I'll think "Hey...what if there's gluten in tap water? I don't have a water filter and I know various things have been found in tap water."

-Another thing I'll get paranoid about is family at home either walking too close or hovering over me while I have my plate of food. (I'm the only celiac in my household) I imagine that if tiny crumbs are stuck to their clothes, that there is a chance of them falling onto my plate at these times.

-I also rinse my hands fanatically when I'm preparing food for myself in the kitchen.

So there it is. Anyone else have similar paranoid thoughts? Please share.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

I hate people hovering over my plate or the serving bowls/plates. I hated that before because who wants people breathing on the food?

I will say that, as you get some processes or procedures for your food in place at home, you will feel more relaxed. I have found myself calmly eating & then suddenly remember "gluten-free?" But its OK because we have followed the procedures without even thinking about it.

Hungrylady Rookie